One-day vacation

The sun was shining, the tropical tunes were blasting, people all around had drinks adorned with umbrellas. There were even a few folks in grass skirts and coconut bras.
When I allowed my mind to just take in everything around me, I had the same sense of relaxation and good time vibes that I feel when visiting a tropical island. Except I wasn’t on a tropical island, I was in a parking lot in Bridgeview, Illinois.
If you’ve never been, a Jimmy Buffett concert is the only music event that is like a mini-escape from reality. It’s not about the music or the pyro techtronics that make other concerts an event to remember. It’s the atmosphere, the people. It’s about the experience that is much more than the concert itself.
The tailgating usually begins around noon and this isn’t like a football tailgating party. Some people arrive in the early morning hours to transform their piece of parking lot real estate into their own tropical paradise. There are tiki huts, mini pools, margarita machines, beach balls. Some hardcore parrot heads even bring in their own sand to create mini beaches. But even though each claims their own slice of blacktop, each was a small piece of a unified party scene. Everyone shares food, drinks, music, whatever it takes to make sure everyone is having a good time. As long as you don’t look beyond the parking lot perimeter to catch a glimpse of the reality that lives beyond those gates, you’re in paradise for a day. A complete mental vacation.
My most recent experience was a little more than a week ago and came after a particularly busy work week; the kind of week that makes you count down to your next vacation. After spending the day as a parrot head, the batteries were recharged, the mind was cleared and my mind full of mental pictures that will last a lifetime, much like the effects of a good vacation. I’m already looking forward to next year’s mini vacation.
Someone should write a song about this particular type of mental escape. Maybe they should call it Margaritaville.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, escape, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One-day vacation

  1. Pingback: Boondocking and Buffett | Travelerontherun's Blog

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

