Searching for Christmas ornaments

I don’t remember how it started, but every time I visit a new place (and sometimes return to old haunts) I find a Christmas ornament to buy.
It’s been a fun way to remember my adventures each year as I decorate the tree. As I unwrap the new additions it’s a nice way to reflect on the past year in terms of travels and memories. And as I unwrap the old ornaments I try to recall the year I collected each one (I should really write dates on each box) and try to think about what was going on in my life at the time of that particular trip. I had quite a few additions to the tree last year which made me feel blessed and made me remember what a great year I had had and of all the memories that were made.
It’s only March but I am already wondering what ornaments will be added to the tree next year. I’m guessing the locations won’t be as exotic as in the past two years and will probably include destinations like Wisconsin or Minnesota, as opposed to St. Thomas or St. Maartin. But I’m hoping the memories will be just as special.
You see, we are beginning a new adventure, something that can be considered an expensive experiment, as RV owners. Yeah, it’s all part of practicing for retirement. Ha!
We have enjoyed traveling abroad and have especially loved the Caribbean beaches we have had the pleasure of laying on. But the two quadrupeds we consider to be our kids, have not been able to join us on those trips. There’s also a whole lot here in the continental US we haven’t seen but would love to. And I’ve always considered myself to be an outdoors-type person.
There are reservations about this whole idea to be sure. We bought a very nice tent a few years ago that has been used a total of two times even though we start every summer season with all sorts of grandiose plans to go camping. Life gets in the way and we don’t make it. I think only about three weekends last summer were without a party or family event we felt obligated to attend.
Making such a big investment on something that would go unused was my biggest hang-up. But, I finally decided, if we spend the money on this thing I am going to make darn sure it gets used even if it means politely declining an invitation or two.
So the “rig,” as they say in the RV world, has been ordered; we should take possession sometime between now and the end of April. The towing vehicle (Jeep Grand Cherokee) has replaced the Honda and I have subscribed to a number of online forums I would never have imagined myself joining mere months ago. As we wait, and Spring starts to show signs of a return, I am once again making plans in my head that are getting me pretty excited. We shall see what comes of those plans.
Because all other vacation plans have been placed on hold until further notice, I have one additional motivation to use the RV. I’m going to need some new ornaments for that Christmas tree in nine months.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Rving, traveling. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Searching for Christmas ornaments

  1. Pingback: Tuesday on the Island | Traveler on the Run

  2. Pingback: Getting Christmastized | Traveler on the Run

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

