Spring cleaning

The sun was shining bright this weekend. But it was very deceiving since it was still cold as all get out. But I still managed to get outside and get some much-needed yard work done. Namely, the clearing of leaves that have covered my flower gardens since last fall. For the record, it wasn’t laziness but a heartfelt move meant to keep my fragile flower bulbs insulated. After the winter we had, I’m sure they are thanking me. In fact, they are starting to pop their heads out now all in an attempt to send me their gratitude.
It’s about this time each year – when the flowers start coming out – that I remember Spring is one step closer to summer. All that to say, it will no longer be practical or advisable to continue wearing those bulky sweaters that conveniently cover the weight gain. Isn’t that one of the best things about winter in the Midwest though?!
So while other people spring clean, I spring clean my body with a kick start to my fitness goals. Some years it’s easier than others to get started. When I have a marathon to train for. Or, as was the case last year, I had a cruise vacation scheduled for the end of May. I have neither motivation this year since I conveniently decided already that a marathon is not going to happen this year. And vacationing at a campground isn’t motivation enough to work on a vacation body. After all, we’re not talking about vacations that involve sitting by a pool in a bikini, but rather sitting around campfires drinking beer and eating s’mores…ah, s’mores. Oh how I am looking forward to s’mores this summer. Wait, where was I? Oh yes. Motivation to get fit.
Well, the fact that my old regular jeans have now become skinny jeans is pretty depressing. As is the fact that I am now glad the work pants I had in a bag ready to donate because they were too big never made their way to the donation truck since I am again wearing them.
Bottom line: it’s time to get my game face on. It doesn’t matter how many Ghiradelli chocolates are still left from hubby’s last trip to San Francisco. Or how many Girl Scout cookies are sitting on top of the fridge. It doesn’t even matter that I have a big bag full of chocolately type ingredients to make dozens and dozens of goodies. All of those things are now considered obstacles I must overcome. I also have adopted a “no excuses” policy to work out at least four times this week.
The problem is, I always feel motivated to work out in the evening on my way home from work. Even while I am cooking dinner I tell myself, “it’s to the exercise room right after the dished are cleared.” The excuses usually start to creep up as I am eating dinner.
So, I’m feeling pretty motivated right now, as of 6pm as I sit on the train. We’ll see what happens over the next couple of hours!
I also need to work on this whole morning person thing again. As in – I need to become a morning person so I can get the workouts done and over with. I have tried, and failed, many times to find motivation in the morning. Life would be so much easier. But…. alas, that is a problem to tackle another day. I first must get into some kind of routine that doesn’t involve chocolates and cookies for dessert every night.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

