The Comeback Shuffle

Last Sunday was the Shamrock Shuffle, otherwise known as the official kickoff to the running season.

It’s been a tradition for me since 2004, when I ran the race, my very first, as the result of a bar bet. After crossing the finish line that day, I decided I wanted to run the marathon. I did, indeed, go on to run the marathon that year proving to myself I could do anything I put my mind to. My friend Peter still finds it humorous my running career began as the result of a bar bet. Who says beer is bad for you?

I like that the Shuffle has always been the launching point to whatever fitness or running goals I have set my sites on for the year. Because I walk three mikes a day just getting to and from the train, I’m usually not concerned about my ability to run the 8k, even without training. So after a lazy winter season of little to no running, I run the race to kick off my own running season and begin training for whatever race I have set my sites on for the year, usually a marathon or half marathon.

As much as I needed that shot of motivation this year as it’s been a particularly lazy winter for me, I was this/close to bailing in favor of continuing on my lazy, non-active, chocolate-eating journey.

After reading one of my new favorite blogs which is authored by someone who has, literally, been sick for a year. I got to thinking about how there are plenty of people in this world who would love to even have the option to to run a race like that. I thought about what a huge accomplishment I thought it was seven years ago to run and how motivated I was to get fit and to become a legitimate runner.

I ultimately decided to do it, even though I knew I wouldn’t like it. But, like most things that require physical exertion, I was glad I did it in the end.

First off, I didn’t realize the toll my laziness had had on my body. In years past, I set new PRs every year even without training. Even though I hadn’t run much those years, I had continued to do strength training, something I did not do this year. Running five miles after several months of no physical activity, besides the walk to and from the train each day, was – I’m sad to admit – freakin’ hard! I’m a marathon runner, dammit. It shouldn’t be that hard!

The first two miles or so were especially hard as I struggled to get ahead of the pack at the start. Once I got ahead I didn’t want to get passed up by those I had just passed myself so I continued on, slowing my pace only to get water or gatoraid.

The last part of the race, always the most brutal due to the incline of the last 1/2 mile, I forced myself to be headstrong and continue running, even if I was running slower than I wanted. Just keep moving, I told myself over and over.

Once I turned the last corner and was able to see the finish line, I decided to not just finish but finish strong. I wanted to prove something to myself.

I set my sites on a blonde girl in a yellow shirt ahead of me. She was a good 20 paces ahead but I knew I had to beat her. I pretended I was a contestant on the Biggest Loser, playing for immunity, or a new car, or $10,000. Besides the (make believe) prizes, my reputation was at stake here, people! I gave it my all and ran as fast as I could with my eyes focussed on that damn yellow shirt.

As soon as I crossed the finish line a good five steps ahead of her, I realized I still had it in me – the motivation that led me to become a marathoner. The motivation that got me through 16 miles of mountain running. And the motivation that got me in the best shape I have ever been in last summer.

It may not have been the best 8k I have ever run, but it was the most gratifying comeback I’ve ever had.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

