Do this, don’t do that

It’s official. We have entered this crazy world of RV ownership.
I’ve never felt so dumb in my life.
I’ve always considered camping to be the simplest kind of vacation, which is one of the things that attracted me to it. You can’t get simpler than parking in a park somewhere, maybe do some hiking, definitely do some drinking, and certainly relaxing around a campfire. I wasn’t prepared for the always-every-time -do-this, but-never-under-any-circumstances-do-that, and-sometimes-you-may-want -to-consider doing-this-other-thing-but-preferably-no-more-than-twice-a-year-and-only-if-you-are-wearing-purple-underwear-and-it’s-at-least-50-degrees nature of this seemingly mindless leisure activity.
The “tour” of the new rig took about an hour and a half. And I have no idea how much our tour guide, who knew the purpose and function of every lever, switch and knob in the rig, gets paid, but I am sure he is underpaid. All I could think was, “This guy knows every make and model on this lot as intimately as he does this one and how, assuming he doesn’t have a photographic memory, do it?”
The nice sales manager guy at the RV dealership said he’s positive in a few month we’ll be talking about how funny it is that we were so confused and overwhelmed. But, really, do you think he’s going to tell someone about to hand him a check for double what I made in my first post-college job, “Sorry, you really are the biggest idiots we have ever seen in here and, well, maybe you should consider investing in a nice tent instead.”
To say we are overwhelmed would be an understatement. If I were even in a position of making a list of the things I am confused about, I would be lightyears ahead of where I am now in my RV knowledge-seeking quest.
And to think, I really wanted to head right out to a camping ground the day after picking up the trailer. What a train wreck that would have been!

20110428-083611.jpg

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Rving. Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

