Girls Gone Wild

After I posted a picture of the new RV on Facebook, my friend Tonya replied with a comment that made me laugh so hard.

Love it!! Need a girls weekend like when we were younger. Remember, peeing our pants, flashing our boobs, butt cheeks showing!! Lol

I know what you’re thinking. Well, I know what I would be thinking. But the comment was more innocent than it appears. She was referring to one of many camping trips we took with her parents when we were growing up. I had actually been thinking of that same trip, but for different reasons I will get to in a minute.

Me, Tonya and our other friend Angie spent a long weekend at a campground in Southern Indiana with her parents. The first day we took their boat out on a small lake there and were doing some tubing. When my turn was over, I was climbing back on the boat and somehow my bathing suit shifted, exposing one whole butt cheek. Making matters worse, the cheek ended up right in the face of her father who was helping me out of the water. I was horrified but played it off in hopes everyone would stop making fun of me if I pretended it wasn’t a big deal.

This strategy worked, and all seemed to have been forgotten, until the next day when all three of us girls flashed our boobs to an entire water park.

We each went down this tall, winding water slide that ended in a pool of water that had jet streams that, I assume, were meant to slow you down. One by one, we shot off the slide, into the jet stream, and our tops flew off. The most hilarious was Angie, the most well-endowed of us three. She didn’t realize she had lost her top and came splashing up in a Bo Derek-type fashion, trotting towards the side of the pool, flipping her hair over her shoulder, flashing a big smile with her girls just a bouncin’ and her bikini top down near her belly button. I laughed so hard I nearly split a gut.

The trip was going great. Three best friends out in the summer sun just being silly girls, having the time of our lives, body exposure notwithstanding. (Are you sensing some sort of build up to a dramatic transition?)

But things turned pretty ugly the second night. (And there it is…the dramatic transition. Can you hear the dun, dun, dunnnnn…)

After dinner it started storming pretty badly. Us girls had been sleeping in a tent set up next to Tonya’s parent’s camper. As the rain picked up and the wind started howling, we decided to join her parents inside.

The rain and wind went on for a couple of hours when suddenly there was an eerie calm. And then we heard the train whistle.

When I was much younger on a cross-country camping trip with my parents, we were in Oklahoma in a pop-up camper when a tornado struck within miles of where we were staying. I remember very little about that incident but I do recall the train whistle sound.

When I heard it that night, several years later camping with my girlfriends, I knew.

Tonya’s dad remained very calm. He told me many years later that that was one of the scariest nights he’s ever had and it took everything he had to remain calm in front of us girls. As the camper started rocking back and forth he quietly told us maybe we would be best sitting on the floor of the camper. Just as a precaution, he said. We asked if we should run to the bathhouse. I don’t remember what Tonya’s mom said exactly, but she essentially said it was too late.

We remained on the floor of that camper, with our heads between our knees, for about 20 minutes. And then it was over. The calmness was restored, but for real this time.

We cautiously peeked outside, but since it was late, we couldn’t see much. We heard people making their way back to their campers from the bathhouse asking each other if they were ok. We didn’t say much for the rest of the night but we never went back to the tent. We all crowded into a bed together and tossed and turned all night.

The next morning we walked outside to another bright, warm, sunny day. Just as it had been the previous day, before the storm. Tree limbs were everywhere. Debris was scattered. But, oddly, it didn’t seem as bad as I was expecting. Until we took a drive.

We drove into the nearby town and as we turned onto its main street, we just stared in disbelief. Cars were flipped on their roofs. Signs were torn down from in front of the businesses. Roofs were gone from the buildings. Trees were on top of power lines. It appeared to be the direct path of the funnel cloud and it was less than a mile from the campground.

We returned to our campsite later that morning. I was wearing flip flops and shorts. As I walked towards the camper on an ever-so-slight slope, I started to slide. The mud was much thicker than it appeared. The more I slipped, the further my legs went in opposite directions, and the deeper my ankles got buried in mud. I started to laugh. I couldn’t stop. Soon everyone else was roaring right along with me.

It was the first real laugh we had had that day and it was so therapeutic after the stressful night we had. Only one problem. I had to pee.

Here I am, stuck ankle deep in the mud with my legs spread about two feet apart, full bladder and an inability to stop laughing. There was soon a stream. For some inexplicable reason, I thought maybe no one would notice. But if there’s one thing about Tonya’s family — nothing goes unnoticed, or unannounced.

OH MY GOD SHE’S PEEING HER PANTS!!! was all I heard. I laughed even harder. We all laughed non-stop for probably an hour. For the rest of the trip, every time the visual popped back in one of our minds, the laughing started again.

I thought of this camping trip just yesterday after seeing the news and the pictures of the devastating tornadoes that just hit the south. I hope I never have to experience something like that ever again, especially in a camper. But then it occurred to me that as frightening as that experience was, that’s not what we remember. It’s this:

Remember, peeing our pants, flashing our boobs, butts cheeks showing!! Lol

The ability those memories gave us to replace the memories of the tornado were, and still are, completely worth the embarrassment.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Rving, traveling, Uncategorized, weekend getaway. Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

