Maiden voyage, part one

We were pulling out of the driveway with the 31-foot behemoth trailing behind us when I turned to Brian and said, “The most important thing to remember is to keep a sense of humor.” Those were the words used against me about two and a half hours later.

It was our maiden voyage in the new rig, a 31-feet (33 if you include the hitch) Ever-Lite 31RBK. We chose Potato Creek as the first destination since it was relatively close to home(about 90 miles) and close to my parents. It was Mother’s Day and they were coming to join us for a picnic on Sunday.

We knew it was a campground that had only electric hookups so we reviewed the manual on how to fill the fresh water tank – not that there was a lot to review. You stick the hose in the hole on the side of the trailer marked “fresh water fill” but you can never be too prepared, right?

We arrived at the campground a little before sundown, thinking we had enough time to fill the tank, get to the site and set up before nighttime really hit and we were forced to chock wheels and deploy stabilizer jacks by lantern light.

There was another trailer filling up when we pulled into the fill station so we tried really hard to look like old pros. We have all of our supplies in their corresponding crates, one for fresh water hookup supplies, one for black tank supplies, one for electric hookup supplies and another for outdoor lighting such as lanterns and string lights. (What can I say, we had a couple of weeks to prepare for the first voyage post pick-up and I tend to get a little OCD with too much prep and planning time.)

So anyway, we pulled out the fresh water supply box and the white hose stored inside. We even have a filter that purifies the water as it comes out of the spigot and before it hits our white fresh water hose- pretty fancy and impressive, right?! I just knew these people looked at us like we were modern day Paul Bunyon wannabes.

I have to admit, I was a little disappointed when they pulled away before we were able to display our mad water filling skills. Looking back, I think it was my Angel of Embarrassing situations looking after me.

Brian turned on the spigot, we heard the water falling into the tank, but the sound resembled more of a there’s-water-spilling-on-the-ground sound.

“it sounds like water is…” Brian started saying as he knelt down to look under the trailer….”POURING ON THE GROUND! What the hell?!”

He jumped back up, turned off the spigot, and a few seconds later the water stopped dropping below. He readjusted the hose, turned the spigot back on, water began pouring out again.

Houston we have a problem.

I’m not sure why, but at the last minute before we left the house, I grabbed this old Mexican blanket from the bottom of our linen closet. It became the makeshift mechanic’s rug. Brian got underneath the trailer and reported seeing what looked like a drain and that’s where the water was coming through. He crawled further under the trailer to get a better look and discovered the drain-type thing looked like the female half of some kind of connection with the male part missing.

Okay. Now what?!

As he dug through the paperwork to find the maintenance hotline number for a service that came with one of the various extended warranties, road side service, let-me-come-up-with-an-excuse- to-sell-you-more-insurance policies, I was online posting an SOS call to the members of the online Ever-lite owners forum.

For 45 minutes he answered questions on things, all of which should have been included in the policy information we assumed they had on file as I frantically hit the refresh button on the iPad. (this whole experience I will blog about in a separate post). It was finally confirmed what we had feared – it was, in fact, a drain and the dealership forgot to replace the plug they had to remove in order to empty the tank before we took the trailer home.

As I cursed the dealer, cursed the people on the phone with Brian who, instead of asking about the problem-at-hand, wanted to know the freakin’ color of the trailer, Brian told me in no uncertain terms I needed to find that sense of humor I made clear from the get-go we were to not lose…dammit. Nothing worse than words coming back to bite you when you’re already pissed off. But, I decided, who cares. This was an experimental trip. There was nothing that would be solved by getting angry.

We considered our options. Drive the 90+ miles home. Drive 20 miles back to my parents. Drive until we find a wal-mart or some other 24-hour super store with hardware.

I suppose we are already spoiled with the trailer because it didn’t initially occur to us we could camp without water! Duh! Finally I suggested we pretend we are in tents and fill up what water jugs we have and use the campground bath house. Luckily, there was one close to our site.

So we finally arrived at our campsite at about 10pm, quickly discovered I’m not good with giving backing up directions in the dark with a flashlight 🙂 but we got ‘er backed in and set up.

Hooking up the electric wasn’t hard at all, neither was leveling the trailer out. We kept it hitched up so we could leave the next morning and make our way back to the hardware store then filling station again. We went to bed pretty early so we could get to the hardware store when it opened. Either we were dog tired, or the bed is really comfortable. We both slept soundly through the whole night.

Day 2 coming next…..

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
Gallery | This entry was posted in escape, Rving, traveling, weekend getaway. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Maiden voyage, part one

  1. Pingback: Returning to my roots | Traveler on the Run

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

