Roughing it in luxury

We’ve had a lot of friends tease us, saying that with an RV, what we are doing is not real camping, whatever that means.

The next time I hear that, I think I will send them to this story about a new fad called “glamping,” meaning glamorous camping. Compared to this, we might as well be in the middle of the jungle with a pup tent eating MREs.

I had never heard of this term before, but we have teased my mother-in-law that she would always find a way to put the glam in camping. Looking back, why didn’t we come up with the word glamping in her honor?! There is a picture of her on a camping trip she took with her sister and brother-in-law in their motorhome to Yosemite last fall. The picture happened to be the first time I had ever (in the 10+ years I’ve known her) seen evidence of my mother-in-law wearing blue jeans. I was told they were purchased specifically for this trip. In her jeans and stylish vest with a scarf around her neck for warmth, she was carrying a very shiny, gold colored glam bag with her nails perfectly manicured and her fingers iced out with diamonds. It’s the most fabulous picture of her ever.

Apparently this glamping thing has been around for a while. A Google search turned up thousands of hits and at the top of the search list were tour companies that arrange glamping excursions around the world.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not knocking the idea. There’s a market for just about anything, I’ve found. In fact, the glamping offerings sound pretty nice! A private chef! A butler! I bet the butler would start a campfire for you — something we could definitely use. I wonder if he roasts marshmallows for you, too? For the money you’d spend to stay at a glampground, he better. And those marshmallows better be evenly browned on all sides and not a hint of burned ash. Does he also muddle limes and mint for mojitos? One could get really spoiled on a glamping trip!

So again, not knocking the idea. What I don’t get is the convoluted attempt to lump this into the camping category. I’m pretty sure anyone requiring this level of service is unapologetic of the fact that they are not campers. I’m not saying people with expensive tastes don’t enjoy the outdoors. But there are plenty of resorts located in remote areas where one could experience nature and luxury all in one day. And it won’t involve a butler offering turn-down service on someone’s 600 thread-count sleeping bag.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in escape, Rving, traveling. Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

