That magic…it’ll cost ya

Tomorrow is the party I and my former high school classmates have been waiting two decades to attend: The 20-year class reunion.

The dynamic is much different from the 10-year reunion, which I did not attend since the two people I was still in touch with from high school chose not to go, so I chose not to go either. Because of Facebook, I am now back in touch with people I had forgotten I even knew. But once we discovered each other online, I can’t believe I missed so much and I remembered how much I missed a lot of them. Since I no longer live in my hometown, the opportunity to get back together with these long lost friends has not presented itself until now.

Because I now pretty much know the answers to the requisite questions such as where do you live?; what do you do for a living? Are you married? Kids? ect… we can spend our time just enjoying each others company again and reliving the old high school days as our respective spouses sneak off to the bathroom to slit their wrists from boredom.

Even though we have all seen pictures of each other on Facebook, I’ve been working on my “reunion make-over,” also known as “the only reason I was motivated to stay so physically active during vacation.” I have about another 10 pounds to go before I’m back to the weight I have felt most comfortable in for the past 5 years or so. Since that pill you take before bed that will shed off 10 pounds and make your body lean by morning has not yet hit the market, I guess I’ll have to accept the fact I’m not at my absolute best. But gauging from the other pictures I’ve seen on facebook, some others are much further from their best that I am 🙂 I’m not saying….I’m just sayin’.

I figured a big event such as this calls for a new outfit, and I wanted to reward my hard work (I’ve been getting up at 5:15 every morning to work out!), so I headed to Nordstrom’s yesterday at lunch to find a new dress. I grabbed about 10 dresses and headed to the dressing room, having looked at the price tag of about eight of them. I tried this one dress on, and oh my god!! It was the most flattering thing to ever touch my skin. If all my clothes looked this good on, I wouldn’t worry about those extra 10 pounds ever again. Here’s the thing though. I think the dress itself was $75 but the fat-fighting magic it was constructed with would have cost me another $200. Leave it to me to not look at the price tag of all the dresses and absolutely adore the one I would have never tried on had I looked at the price beforehand. I decided to be a smart shopper and head to Nordstrom Rack, the discount store of the Nordstrom Family, and see what I could find there for less than $275 before I splurged and bought the magic dress.

I did, indeed, find a dress, a dress that would have made me a whole lot more excited had I not tried on the mother of all dresses just hours before. I think it flattered the body that I have, but I am not kidding when I say the other dress flattered the body I normally wish for, but becomes reality in this dress. It really was constructed with magic. I made the decision to go with the much cheaper option — that damned frugality! Although, the out-the-door price ended up being $40 more for the spanx I bought in hopes they would bring the magic the dress alone failed to deliver.

I think my choice will be perfectly adequate. My only fear now is that there will be a spanx-flashing incident that will truly make the event a night to remember.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Stuff that would only happen to me, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

