Raising awareness of stupid Facebook posts

I am going to depart from my normally cheerful disposition (no comments) and vent a little about these stupid little Facebook campaigns purportedly aimed at breast cancer awareness.

My rant comes not only because I was just duped into thinking my oldest and dearest friend is pregnant after she posted “Six weeks…and craving skittles!” (a post which led to an angry e-mail to said friend in disbelief I found out she was, supposedly, expecting via Facebook — she apologized profusely) but because this is the THIRD theme of the old breast cancer awareness campaign I have seen in as many weeks. I think it’s all silly nonsense that needs to stop. And to the people who say it’s just harmless fun — well, I’m sorry, but I don’t find anything about breast cancer “fun.”

These silly posts do little more to bring breast cancer awareness than my running down the street with my underwear on my head would bring. If the point of these ridiculous campaigns is to raise awareness of something, how is writing a cryptic message that has nothing to do with breast cancer that only confuses and misleads people bringing awareness to something? And furthermore, are people really unaware that some women are suffering from breast cancer?? I personally know about a half dozen women who have come face-to-face with the realities of breast cancer and I speak with pretty good authority when I say I don’t think opening up their Facebook newsfeeds and reading something along the lines of “6 inches 😦 ” or “I like it on the kitchen counter” makes them feel supported and loved as they face the scariest thing that will likely ever happen to them.

You want to support breast cancer? Send a card to someone you know who is dealing with the disease right now, or to someone who is in remission just to let them know how happy you are they alive and thriving. Don’t know anyone who has, or has had breast cancer? Well, first of all, consider yourself lucky, then sign up to do a charity walk or sponsor someone else doing one. And if you must insist on supporting breast cancer awareness on your Facebook status, how about saying something that is clear to all who read it. Something like: Breast cancer sucks!

Ok, end of rant. Back to our regularly scheduled programming.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

