First responders memorial

Among the most heart-breaking stories I heard about the 9/11 attacks were those of the first responders, many of whom had just left their overnight shifts only to return because they knew they had to help. They bravely walked in those burning buildings and saved countless lives, only to lose their own.

There were many families that lost two or more members because their families had a long history of public service. Young men who grew up watching their fathers and grandfathers put on a uniform every morning wanted to follow in those footsteps. They wanted to be heroes like the men they looked up to, only to become a hero in the truest sense of the word themselves.

Many of those who survived are still displaying heroism as noted by a comment in my 9/11 posting from Traveling Wife. They are fighting illnesses caused by the toxic material they breathed in for many months as they dug through the rubble looking for the bodies of their brothers in uniform. Every one would likely say that they would do it again. That’s the attitude of a hero.

Like many communities across the country, the suburb where we live was able to obtain beams, three of them, from the World Trade Center. They decided to use the beams to build a memorial dedicated to those first responders who lost their lives. I thought it was a wonderful idea. It not only acknowledges those who died that day, but also recognizes the men and women in our own community who put on a uniform every morning, not knowing the dangers they may face that day.

Renowned sculptor Erik Blome, a Chicago-area native who has sculpted many of the more recognizable sculptures in the Chicago area as well as pieces all across the country, was tapped to design and make this particular piece. It was unveiled in a dedication ceremony held on 9/11.

It was a moving ceremony that I was glad I was able to attend. Especially moving was the singing of the National Anthem by Jim Cornelison. Cornelison is another Chicago staple who opens every home-ice Blackhawks game. If you have heard him sing once, his voice will immediately be recognizable the next time you hear him. Unfortunately, I did not get video of him singing at the dedication ceremony but (it was a busy day for him) he left the ceremony immediately after his performance to sing at the Bears season opener. As moving as his performance was at the Bears game, it was even more moving at the dedication ceremony. Many were moved to tears.

By the way, is it just a Chicago thing or do other cities cheer during the anthem?

The sculpture, although not complete, did not disappoint. There are two additional elements that will be added later that will incorporate the other two beams. But the central element of the piece is quite beautiful. It’s located at the train station so each morning as I board the train to head to work, I can be reminded of the sacrifices made each day by those called to serve and protect.

Taking the veil off the 9/11 First Responders Memorial

On display for the first time. The shorter piece to the left is still being completed and was removed after the ceremony.

The flatbed truck in the foreground is carrying a third beam that will also be part of the monument.


Close-up of the details which include a fireman looking out and helping hands.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First responders memorial

  1. It has been a long time since I have heard the National Anthem play anywhere but at a baseball game (in MN of course). Yes we did cheer after the National Anthem, I personally cry for some reason during it and I put my hand over my heart. I do it for the people that you have mentioned above. Great reflection pieces on why we should honor and say a heart felt thanks to those who have done so much to help out their fellow ‘neighbor’. 🙂

  2. It seems most every other place cheers AFTER the anthem, we cheer during. I thought it was really strange the first few hockey games I went to, but now I think it’s a neat tradition. The crowd goes wild, cheering more loudly with each crescendo. At the dedication ceremony they even lit off fireworks during the line of “bombs bursting in air!” That was a first. I, too, like to place my hand over my heart but I guess the Chicago way is to clap instead 🙂

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

