Long Road to the Funny Farm

As I said on Friday, nothing ever goes according to plan. But, I guess that’s why I have a good sense of humor.

Things were actually going quite smoothly Friday afternoon. I left work an hour early and was headed out to the airport to pick up the car. Just about the time I was getting off the train, Brian called and said he was about 2 1/2 hours from Madison, where I was driving to meet him so he could drop off the rental car he drove from Minneapolis and we could make the final leg of the trip to Baraboo together. Perfect, I thought. Once I get moving, it’ll only be about a two hour trip to Madison for me so neither of us will have to wait too long.

I was walking down the stairs from the train platform and I got a text from Brian: Call me ASAP! When I called him back, he asked if I had the keys to the trailer. “No, and I’m guessing you don’t have yours either which is why you are calling. S#%t!!!”

I quickly started doing the math in my head: I was north of the city at O’Hare. We live south of the city. It’s now 5pm on a Friday and there is — what’s that called? — oh yes, rush hour traffic!! And just like that, we just added two hours to my ETA in Madison.

By the time I made it home and headed back north again, rush hour was ending but it still takes a good 30 minutes in normal traffic conditions to drive to O’Hare. I decided to make the best of my longer-that-anticipated drive and called to catch up with my friend in San Diego who had a baby three months ago. It made the time fly by. Before I knew it, I was in Janesville, about 40 miles outside of Madison.

I picked up Brian from the airport. He came walking out carrying a case of beer like a piece of carry-on luggage which I’m sure looked funny to people who didn’t realize he wasn’t flying. We got back on the road and finally made it to the Funny Farm at about 10:30. At about midnight, when Brian started falling asleep mid-sentence during a story, it was time to hit the hay. What a long day!

The rest of the weekend was perfection. Lots of laughs and quality time with our godson, his brother and sister and parents. We ate, we drank, we picked fruits and vegetables, and even took a trip to Wisconsin Dells for a festival. I got some cheese curds and roasted corn – ah, you betcha, gotta have my favorite Wisconsin festival food – but the festival was so crowded with people, it reminded me of Bourbon Street during Mardi Gras but without the boobs or beads. But we had a good time anyway and I got to see the Dells for the first time in my life. (I know, I am such a bad midwesterner. Who grows up in the Midwest and doesn’t go to the Dells? I blame my parents).

We left Sunday well-rested with a car packed full of fresh tomatoes and beans. On the way, we dropped the trailer off at Indian Trails where we are going back to camp next weekend. They let you park for free if you are camping within 14 days — what a deal! And gas saver!!

Now back in Illinois with my abundance of fresh produce, I will be learning new skills this week including making my own pasta sauce from fresh tomatoes, and blanching beans for freezing. I’ll keep you all posted on how that goes!

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in traveling, weekend getaway. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Long Road to the Funny Farm

  1. CHEESE CURDS! Oh God bless the person who decided to come up with those tasty treats! The cheese curds alone probably made the whole trailer keys situation bearable. So happy you had a great weekend. The next weekend is coming up soon. Any plans?

  2. Oh yes, those cheese curds have an amazing ability to bring happiness 🙂 We are going camping this weekend, back to Indian Trails in Pardeeville, Wisc., where we’ve been a few times this summer. They are celebrating Halloween this weekend with trick-or-treating and costume parties…the whole deal. Should be lots of fun with many photo ops! Hubby has business in Madison (only 30 minutes away) at the start of the week so we are making a 4-day weekend of it!
    What about you?

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

