Will run for chocolate

After I wrote the post on Monday (which didn’t get posted until last night) the sore throat I had been ignoring hoping it would go away started getting worse and had turned into a bad cough, runny nose and all of the other things indicating a full-on cold. Bleh. So I never made it out for a trail run and I spent most of the rest of my time at Indian Trails inside the trailer.

I am feeling better, although not 100%, but it’s supposed to be a nice weekend so I am adamant about getting in a good run this weekend in between all of the camping/Halloween (Take 2) festivities!

I signed up for a 15K race for the first weekend of November so I need to get a few good runs in over the next few weeks. I have really started slacking on my running and working out in general, so having a race to prepare for is good motivation to get moving. And my motivation for signing up for the 15k race? Chocolate.

I ran the inaugural Hot Chocolate 15k three years ago when the sponsor was Hershey’s. This year’s sponsor is none other than my favorite chocolatier, Ghirardelli, which means, waiting for me at the finish line will be a big Ghirardelli buffet. Heaven!! I could set a new PR on this one just to be the first in line for the goodie table!

Brian has gotten into the habit of bringing me home Ghirardelli chocolates every time he takes a trip to San Francisco, where they are made. He just got home from a trip there about two weeks ago and brought back two big bags, one of which was a limited edition Pumpkin Spice. Well, if a complimentary Ghirardelli buffet wasn’t motivation enough to sign up for the race, the extra pounds I fully anticipate putting on prior to that race by eating these pumpkin spice chocolates made the decision to sign up  a no-brainer. OMG, those little squares are like crack. Cannot. Stop. Eating. Them.

So, for the next few weeks as we continue to celebrate autumn and Halloween, and as I prepare for the race, I am predicting a vicious cycle of eating chocolate, running, rewarding myself for running by eating more chocolate. Repeat.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

