My avatar needs a shape-up week!

Several months ago I came across a blog post from The Biggest Loser host Alison Sweeney that talked about the “Shape-up Week” concept. She said that occasionally she will have these weeks during which she is 100% committed to her health and fitness goals. They are weeks of no excuses, no cheating on the diet, no slacking and total focus on her health and fitness.

I’m guessing as a soap actress she probably has shape-up weeks prior to a work week in which she has a scene in a bikini, or a love scene, ect. But she also talked about how these shape-up weeks can get you back on track with health and fitness goals and energize you in a way that will make you want to continue working out and eating right after you see some results that week. It’s a great kick-start after a period of indulgence.

Shape-up weeks are something I have been doing for a long time, but I guess mine were less of a conscious plan that what Sweeney described. What I mean is, once I start a new regime, or recommit myself to an old one, the first week I am gung-ho, the week and weeks following, I am less so. I don’t think this is necessarily a bad thing. Everyone needs their indulgences every once in a while, as long as the indulgences don’t become part of the regular routine. When they do … time for a shape-up week! But after I start seeing and feeling results and know I am on the right track, I allow myself a glass of wine with dinner, or a dessert if we are out to eat, for example.

Well, I have had a pretty indulgent few weeks. Ok, who am I kidding. It’s been a few months. While it hasn’t gotten as bad as zero exercise for several months, I certainly haven’t been following a structured fitness program like I should. After finally facing the scale on Sunday after several weeks, the decision was made rather quickly: Time for a shape-up week!

One of the things I like to make a part of my regular fitness program, in addition to running and strength training, is The Biggest Loser game on the XBox Kinect. Monday night, I fired the machine up and coincidentally the last program that I started was coming to an end. You can start fitness programs that are four weeks long, or eight weeks or 12 weeks and during the program you compete with the avatar versions of real-life BL contestants. There are weekly weigh-ins, challenges, ect. I, of course, was NOT the Biggest Loser so I lost that round. But the great thing about playing at home is they don’t send you packing! I got to start a new program, this one four weeks long.

I re-entered my information, got the body scan done, ect. and then it was time to start my first workout. I couldn’t believe my eyes!! My avatar became obese! I have to say, I know I gained a few pounds since my last visit to the virtual Biggest Loser ranch, but I must carry it much better than my avatar, the poor thing.

yeah, I would be the one in the pink 😦

After my shape-up week comes to an end, I now have even more motivation to continue my fitness regime. My avatar needs to shed some pounds!!

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My avatar needs a shape-up week!

  1. Hahaha, Poor girl (to your avatar). Yeah, I am kind of in the same boat as you. I have not stopped working out altogether but they have become few and far between. I have caught myself with a glass of wine and some icecream. I too got on the scale this morning and was a little overwhelmed by the number. I have not seen the number in about 3 months and I was pretty disappointed in myself. So back to the gym I go. I need to do something close to everyday. I need to up my water intake again and I need to lay off the sugar/pop/wine/dessert. Good Luck on your routine. We will be in this together 🙂

  2. Good luck with your routine, as well!! I’m happy to report the shape-up week was successful, even with the “cheats” I had over the weekend I am still down about 5 pounds for the week! The toughest time of year is coming up though — the holidays. I adore baking, especially during the holidays and, of course, I have to sample everything I make before I give it to people!

  3. I worked out today! YAY, I am glad your week went so well. Keep up the good work 🙂 Yes, if we can make it through Nov-Jan the rest is a breeze 🙂 hahaha! Keep me posted on how your doing

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

