November? Already?

It seems like just a few weeks ago we were sitting around my dining room table, having a wonderful New Years Eve dinner, saying goodbye to 2010 and welcoming 2011. And here we are, just weeks away from saying goodbye to 2011. I’ll save all the “wow, what a year” stuff for later, but just wanted to say how in awe I am every year around this time at how fast time really does fly by.

In Gaelic, November is called Samhain, which means “summer’s end.” And in the celtic tradition, Nov. 1 marks the first day of winter, a tradition still observed in Ireland by festivals which also include some of the Halloween traditions adopted by America and other countries that celebrate Halloween. I kind of like this tradition since it usually takes me until Halloween, and the Nov. 1 date that follows it, to accept the fact summer’s over.

We ended October (and our summer) by attending a very fun Halloween party that has turned into an annual tradition for us. It’s at the house of our friend Jim’s mom who somehow outdoes herself every year. This year was no exception. In addition to the bouncy castle for the kids, and the pony rides, she also had a haunted trail for when the sun went down. Very cool. And I am kicking myself for not taking pictures of it, but Cheryl, Jim’s wife, outdid herself with the dessert/sweets table. OMG! Not sure how she found the time to create all of the awesome stuff she made, but someone needs to give her a baking show. For real! I think this goes without saying, but I was not counting calories Saturday night. Or Sunday, as I ate the goodies we brought home 🙂

I did manage to get a picture of the best adult costume at the party. The neighbor across the street from Jim’s parents showed up like she was walking onto the set of the Wizard of Oz as the Wicked Witch of the West. Her clothes, her make-up, her props – all amazing. When she said she was going home to remove all of her make-up to change costumes for another party she was going to later in the evening, I couldn’t believe it. I think we talked her into staying in the same costume for the second party.

"I'm going to get you, my little pretty!"

I have finally come to terms with the fact that summer has ended. But knowing I’ll be sitting on a beach in Florida in a couple weeks makes it easier to welcome fall 🙂 It’ll probably be snowing by the time we make it home, but it’ll also officially be the Christmas season, so it’s all good. The brutal reality will set in about Jan. 2 when the Christmas decorations and tree are stored away and I’m staring at the snow drifts out the window counting the days until summer.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

