Autumn inspiration

My body, and the internal clock inside of it, didn’t get the memo about the time change. So, I’m up early, getting a head start on my coffee consumption. If I weren’t so sore from yesterday’s 15k race, it would have been a great morning to get a nice run in.

I think the weather today is supposed to be similar to yesterday’s, which was absolutely perfect for a fall race. It was a little chilly standing in the starting corral of the Hot Chocolate 15k, but once I started moving, I warmed up rather quickly.

The Hot Chocolate race has grown at an unbelievable pace since I ran the inaugural one a few years ago. The first mile was more of a power walk pace as there were just too many people to run at a proper race pace. It took nearly 8 miles before I no longer felt like I was weaving in and out of people.

The race went well, given the fact I haven’t run more than a few miles here and there since the 10-mile run I did with the rest of the TRAAG team back in August. But it’s races like this that motivate me to get back into a structured running program with a goal in mind. I’m thinking of training for the Sunburst Marathon in South Bend which is held the first weekend of June. I’ve done the half marathon there the last couple of years, but it would be great to set my sights on Marathon number 6.

I was really inspired by an acquaintance I am also Facebook friends with. She is a newbie runner and yesterday’s race was to be the longest distance she has attempted. She wrote after the race that for several miles she was in last place, as in Dead — the only people behind her were the cops reopening the roads — Last. They finally told her she had to run on the sidewalk so they could open the streets, so she moved. A while later a policeman came up and asked if she wanted a ride to “catch up” with the other runners. She declined and kept moving. She eventually caught up with the others on her own and actually passed a good 40+ runners to cross the finish line, not in last place. Now THAT is determination. Inspiring determination.

After the race, I had a great time at fellow TRAAGster Lisa’s place. She made some amazing pumpkin pancakes and blueberry pancakes. What a delicious way to replace some burned carbs! I also got to talk with and get to know her two friends, both named Amy. Great food and great company after a nice run – not a bad way to spend a Saturday morning, I tell ya!

Today, I will nurse my sore leg muscles while brunching with Tonya, my oldest and dearest friend from back home, while we work out our abs from the inevitable laughs we will share.

Have a great Sunday, everyone!

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, Running, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

