Thankful for Grandma’s apple pie

Since Brian and I and nearly all of my extended family will be leaving town for Turkey Day, my grandmother decided to throw together a pre-Thanksgiving feast at her home in Indiana on Sunday.

It’s become a rare occasion for all of us to get together, so it was a nice treat to spend the day visiting with everyone. And even more special that we got to spend time together while eating Grandma’s cooking and baking!

When my grandma called to invite us over, I had to tease her a bit and tell her we would come, but on one condition: she have apple pie there. She said she wouldn’t think of having me over without an apple pie to offer me. Good answer.

I know, Grandmas and apple pie are like peas and carrots, they just go together. I also realize it may sound cliche to say it, but my grandma makes THE best apple pie. But she really does. She also knows I am her apple pie’s biggest fan. When I was in college, any time my parents came down to visit she would bake an apple pie for them to bring to me. I would hide it from my roommates because there was no way I was going to share. When I moved to Chicago, most every time I came to visit she would send me home on the train with an apple pie in tow. Once, I was on the train and the pie smelled especially good and I couldn’t resist the temptation any longer. So even though I had no fork, I dug in. Yep, with my fingers. Not my proudest moment, but I tell you, the pies are THAT good. And you try sitting on a train for more than an hour and a half smelling that sweet goodness the whole way. I guarantee you would do things you’re not proud of, too 😉

I had to laugh when we were leaving on Sunday and Grandma pulled me aside and handed me a bag and said, “Shhh.. Just take this and don’t let anyone see.” Yep, I’m a grown woman, yet grandma is still getting me my apple pie fix. And for any family members reading: I told you Grandma loved me best!! Neener, neener. 🙂
That’s right. If you’re looking for more apple pie — I have it ALL. SUCKERS!!!

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thankful for Grandma’s apple pie

  1. Hahahaha! I love that it is something like a “secret” between you two. How sweet is that?! I am glad you had a good pre-Thanksgiving. I know you are especially grateful for Grandma….and that sweet treat!

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

