The end of I-65, the start of vacation

It wasn’t until we got off the exit for I-10 that I realized we would be traveling the entire length of I-65. But, here we were, about 30 hours after jumping on I-65 in Gary, Indiana, reaching the end at I-10 in Mobile, Alabama, the first planned destination of our trip.

We’re only staying in Mobile one night so I didn’t spend a whole lot of time researching places to stay. I found Shady Acres on a Google search and I booked it.

We pulled up and Charlie, the owner, met us and brought me inside the office. He and his wife have owned and run this place for about 50 years. He was as nice as could be, with that southern hospitality and charming accent to match. He asked where we were from and when I told him Chicago, he looked at me sideways and said, “She-cah-go? Aw lawdy be. I was just watching’ a program the other night on tee-vee and they said someone comes up missin’ every 30 minutes there.”

Me: “What? Really?

Charlie: “Yes, ma’am. Every 30 minutes.”

Me: “Wow. Guess I’m lucky. Sounds like the odds are against me, and I’m still here!”

As he giggled and said, “I guess that’s right Kim,” I decided that since I had already told him twice my name was Pam, I thought maybe he misheard that stat he just quoted me.

After we took care of payment, he took me back to his office to show me a big map of the area hanging on his office wall to show me where things were located. He even gave me a pocket map to take with me and several brochures. Then he did the manly thing and talked to Brian about the engine in the Jeep and asked if it has a Hemi. It does. (full disclosure: I still don’t know what it means to have a Hemi, but we always get a knowing nod when we tell a man we have one)

The campground is a decent, no-frills kind of place. They cater mostly to permanent RVers, that’s apparent. But each site has full hook-ups (including sewer), free cable and free wi-fi, and it’s quiet, so for $22, after our Good Sam discount, I don’t think we did too bad.

After we set up, Brian was having road withdrawls already so we jumped back on I-10 and headed west to Biloxi.

Heading into Biloxi

We had the dogs with us and were hungry, so we headed to the beach looking for a place with an outdoor patio. We figured they might allow dogs on a patio.

The first place we stopped was a bar/restaurant right on the beach called Shaggy’s Beach Bar and Grill. The hostess confirmed they allowed dogs so we got a table. They were very accommodating and brought both dogs bowls of water. We also got there just in time to see an amazing sunset.

Tomorrow we’ll continue on to Florida, but I’m hoping to see more of Mobile before we go. But for now, we’re sitting outside in shorts and t-shirts watching football, enjoying the awesome weather. Late fall is so much better in the south 🙂

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Rving, traveling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The end of I-65, the start of vacation

  1. OO you lucky lucky Girl. I am sitting here in my Long Johns (tops and bottoms) jeans t-shirt, North face down vest, winter coat, and 1000 grams insilate rubber steeled toe boots and am freezing! The wind here in NY is too much. BUT I will be in Orlando on Wednesday so I will join you in some warm weather adventure! Safe travels.

    • Oh my!! It sounds like you could definitely use a few days in the Florida sun!! I really think the only way to get through a northern winter is to have at least one trip to a warm-weather destination at some point during the season. 🙂
      I hope you have a wonderful trip!! Enjoy!!

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

