In the middle of nowhere

We slept until 7 a.m. this morning and I swear I could have slept another two hours had the camperpups not woke me up with their whining. I got up and let them out thinking they had to go, but both just walked out and then sat there looking at me. I guess it was their way of saying, “We’re on vacation! There’s so much to sniff and see and we’re wasting time! Come on!!”

We went for a walk down to Dog River. I think its named that because if you look at it on a map, it’s shape kind of resembles a dog. They watched the fish jump out of the water for a few minutes before we headed back.

Camperpups at Dog River

We got back to the camper, and as Brian did work outside, I started breakfast. We planned to eat a quick bite at the home on wheels, then take a drive to downtown Mobile to do the tourist thing before hitching up and moving on to Florida.

In the middle of eating, getting ready to leave and planning our day, we experienced our first RV toilet incident. The thing is, flushing an RV toilet can sometimes be like, um, what’s that saying… Trying to fit a square peg in a round hole….if you know what I mean. But, I learned, most RV toilet problems can be resolved by adding more water đŸ™‚ Crisis averted!

After the toilet incident, we took a drive to Mobile, as planned, and took a nice walk through the old downtown area, parts of which reminded me a lot of New Orleans. It was really pretty, with big, old, beautiful houses and rows of historic buildings with balconies. The camperpups sniffed at stuff and watered plants, then we headed back to the campground.


We wanted to avoid arriving after dark, but after a short while on the road, we knew that wasn’t going to happen. But it was a nice drive, much of it along the coast. Although I missed a lot of it as I was too busy playing with my new gadget that allows me to load pictures from my camera to the iPad. I also set up a Flickr page so you all can see the other pictures that I don’t post on the blog. I only have a few there so far, but plan to add more daily.

Our destination was St. George Island, off of Apalachicola, in the panhandle. We are staying here until Thursday. It was, indeed, dark by the time we got here and when I say dark, I mean pitch black, no lights for miles, dark. We called ahead since we knew we would arrive after the park closed. They gave us the code for the gate so we could let ourselves in. We’ll have to go back in the morning to register.

Once we went through the gate, it was another 3.5 miles or so to the campground. We pulled into the campground and the only lights we could see were those from the inside of other campers. The sites are marked only with a number on the electric box, so we had to get our flashlights out to look for the right site. Luckily, it was the first one we stopped at.

The site looks very nice, from what we could see in the dark. And the sky! Wow! I have not seen in a sky like this in too long to remember! It’s such a remote area, this is the first place we’ve camped that we were unable to get even one channel with our digital antenna.

I’m looking forward to seeing the island in the daylight tomorrow morning. There are supposed to be a lot of hiking trails, so I brought my trail running shoes. With any luck, I’ll be able to get them muddy, or at least sandy.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Rving, traveling, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

