Happy Thanksgiving

I hope everyone is enjoying their post-turkey food comas with smiles on their faces.

We had a very non-traditional Thanksgiving, but it was quite nice. We finished the six hour drive from St. George Island to St. Augustine just in time to park, change clothes and make it to our 3:30 reservation. In between, we also had to scramble and find a cab after encountering our first “equipment failure” of the trip, which prevented us from unhitching the trailer from the Jeep. Not a major problem, but definitely something we’ll have to take care of tomorrow. Since there’s nothing that can be done today anyway, we’ll just wait until tomorrow to worry about it. Today is all about the good things in life that we are thankful for, not worrying about things we can’t control.

We had dinner with Brian’s sister and family, whom we don’t get to see enough. We were lucky plans came together so quickly and the Raintree in St. Augustine was able to accomodate our group of six when we called to make reservations last night (yikes!) Everything turned out great and we had a really nice time. And the food was spectacular. I’m not sure what got into me, but I ordered the New Zealand Rack of Lamb, something I never order and something I haven’t had for years. It was cooked to perfection and served with Raintree’s housemade mint jelly, which was also awesome. And since it’s Thanksgiving, I had to have a little pumpkin, so I had the pumpkin praline cheesecake for dessert and didn’t share one bit 🙂

After dinner, everyone came back to the campground where we had a fire. It had been at least an hour since dessert, so I suggested s’mores, which the kids happily agreed were a good idea. They asked me to show them how they are made, and since I am the master, I thought I owed it to them to teach them 😉 As they smacked their lips and licked the marshmallow off their fingers, I overheard our niece Elizabeth say, “This is the best night ever!” Then she looked at her brother and asked him, “Isn’t it the best night you’ve ever had, Carlos?”

“Definitely in the top 5,” he replied. Right then, my heart melted a little. It usually takes kids to teach us to appreciate the little things in life. A great Thanksgiving lesson.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Rving, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

