Moving on to the Keys

We finished our time in St. Augustine doing the touristy stuff and by Brian reliving his former life as a St. Augustine resident.

I’ve never been to a beach that allows cars to drive on it. I guess that is a unique thing St. Austine has going for it. We took the Jeep out there and got to use the 4-wheel drive for the first time since we got the Jeep. We drove for a while then parked and let the dogs play in the surf.

Beach cruisin'


Maya enjoying the beach cruise.


After the beach, we dropped the dogs back off at the campground and headed into the historic part of town. I wanted to shop for a Christmas ornament and also look around, even though I’ve been down there before. There were SO many people! It was a little insane. I found my ornament, snapped a few pictures, and we left.

St. Augustine's historic district.


St. Augustine


Castillo de San Marcos


After our touristy thing downtown, we headed to one of Brian’s old haunts – The Oasis. His cousin Art and family met us there for dinner. We shared many more laughs, as we did with them the night before, then we took the party back to their house for a second time. It wasn’t nearly as late of a night as the one before since we had a long day of driving to look forward to, and I had laundry I needed to get done before we moved on to the Keys.

We made it back by about 8:45p.m. and I headed directly to the campground laundry facilities where I stayed until nearly midnight.

Morning came awful quick, but we were up and out of bed by 6:30 a.m. and on the road by 8:30 a.m. We made it to Key Largo at about 4 p.m. As we were setting up, a guy in a truck pulled up asking how we liked our Ever-Lite. It turned out, they were also camping in an Ever-Lite just around the corner from us. We have passed Ever-Lites twice on the road, but have never seen another one at a campground. We talked to him and his wife for a bit before heading out to dinner at Sundowners. Still not sick of eating seafood, I had the mahi mahi and my first mojito of the trip ( while in Rome, the Keys ….) We also had Key lime pie even though we were stuffed! The service was good and the view was nice. We sat on a deck overlooking the water on the bay side of the island.

We planned to stay in Key Largo for three nights, but I think, instead, we’re going to move on tomorrow. I don’t want to jinx it, so I’ll share the story tomorrow of where we’re going and why … if we do, in fact, make the move. It looks like there’s no reason we won’t at this point. All I know for certain is, it’s good to be back in the Keys šŸ™‚

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in escape, Rving, traveling, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

