When you’ve seen the southern fish for the first time

One of the things I have loved most about this vacation is the beautiful night time skies we have witnessed, especially when the clouds aren’t obstructing the view.

I’ve always enjoyed star gazing, even though I can only name maybe two or three constellations. One of my favorite Jimmy Buffett songs is Southern Cross, which is actually a cover of a Crosby, Stills and Nash song. It talks about the constellation of the Southern Cross, which is only visible from the southern hemisphere. A line of the song goes: When you’ve seen the southern cross for the first time, you’ll understand just why you came this way.

Tonight as I was star gazing, we didn’t know if what we were looking at was the northern star or a planet. There were several other other star clusters we were trying to make sense of, so I downloaded the Star Chart app on the iPad. Wow!

I was identifying constellations and stars I never knew existed. Then I found one called the Southern Fish. It was visible along the southern horizon. I had never heard of the Southern Fish, but I was able to spot it after seeing it on the app. Very cool! As Brian said, I just found my new favorite party trick!

We may not see the Southern Cross from here, but seeing the Southern Fish has made the trip just as memorable.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, escape, Rving, traveling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

