Nearing the end

Note: I wrote this last night and thought I had posted it, but, alas, it was sitting on my virtual dashboard. Better late than never.

Today was our last day before we are forced to hitch up and head back north towards home. We couldn’t have asked for a better last day.

I woke up about 6:30 a.m., or rather, I was woken up by two dogs who must have known what a beautiful morning it was and didn’t want to waste any time. I got outside a few minutes after the sunrise, and was greeted by this scene.

The temps were warm but mild, and there was the slightest breeze that made the conditions absolutely perfect for a run. After I took the dogs for a walk, I laced up the trail shoes and took off.

There is a nature trail on the opposite end of the park from the campground. It was about a mile away from the campsite, and the trail was about another 1.25 miles. I circled back on a portion of the trail that led to an observation deck, that was somewhat of a letdown. But in total, I ran about 4.25 miles. It was a great run. The trail was beautiful and had a great mix of sun, shade and also beach.

Beach portion of the Trail.

After my run, we did breakfast at the campsite and then settled in for a lazy day. I sat out in the lawn chair most of the day, soaking up the rays of sunshine. At one point, I took a dip in the ocean to cool down and I noticed something moving in the water near me. I took a closer look, and guess what I saw?!

Stingray!!

It followed me as I walked back and forth on the shoreline. But I stepped back every time it got close. I didn’t want to become the next Steve Irwin. This went on for a good 20-30 minutes until I finally returned to my lawn chair, where I remained until dinner.

I had hoped to do a little more star gazing tonight, but instead, I looked up to see two large cloud systems merge into one like a stage curtain, covering all of the stars in the sky. I guess it’s just as well. We have to get off to an early start tomorrow to start the trek home. Hard to believe nearly two weeks have passed already. And as I said to Brian earlier, it’s even harder to believe it’s only 24 days until Christmas! I have a lot of work cut out for me when we get home.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Running, Rving, traveling, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

