Tell me a story

The beautiful sunrise and the perfect weather that I experienced yesterday morning were repeated today. Except today, it all seemed more like a cruel joke since we would soon be leaving it all behind.

We got on the road a little later than we planned ( a repeating story of this trip!) despite getting up at 6 a.m. We finally pulled out at about 9:30 a.m. The further north we got, the further south the mercury fell. The car was reading about 50 degrees when we stopped about 15 minutes ago.

We drove for 13 hours, made it out of Florida and are now at the Camping World in Byron, GA. We discovered not all Camping Worlds are created equal as this one is nothing like the one we stayed at in Alabama on the way down. There are no hookups and no dedicated overnight area. It’s just a big parking lot which we are sharing with a trucker who pulled in about five minutes after us.

We also discovered that for a person who is routinely described as “talkative,” I’m really bad at making small talk on demand. About an hour and a half ago, Brian started to feel a little tired so he asked me to tell him a story. I paused … “Um, well … Oh, hum … Gee. Yeah, I got nothing.”

Finally, seeing a sign for Piggly Wiggly, I wondered aloud why there are Piggly Wiggly stores in the south, and in Wisconsin, but none in the Chicago area. “Look at their website,” Brian replied.

Hmm … Guess that’s not an adequate road trip conversation. But, I did, in fact, visit the Piggly Wiggly website not sure what info I would find regarding my initial question (which was zero) but I DID learn that “The Pig” was the first self-serve grocery store in America. In fact, it was Piggly Wiggly that set the standard for what we think of when we hear “grocery store” today. It was the first grocery store to have check-out lines, first to have refrigerated food cases, first to sell nationally marketed brands, ect .. Isn’t that fascinating? Yeah, Brian didn’t think so either. I may not be able to start a conversation on demand, but I can appreciate useless trivia 🙂

According to the Google, we have about 15 hours left to drive. Add in gas, food and bathroom stops, it’ll be more like 17 hours. I’m guessing we will have to stop again tomorrow night unless I can come up with some stories far more interesting than the history of Piggly Wiggly.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Rving, traveling, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

