Happy New Year

I know a lot of people were ready to say goodbye to 2011 and welcome the fresh start a new year brings, and for very good reasons. There were many folks who experienced hard times, disappointments, illnesses and unimaginable tragedies over the past 12 months. For them, I hope 2012 brings healing, happiness and reversals of luck.

Each new year I always think about how life has changed from the previous year and all the things I did, saw and learned that year. I also wonder what memories I will have the next new year when I look back. I always hope there are more good memories than bad.

I could not have predicted a year ago the memories that would be made over the next 365 days. (for one, we had no idea we would become RV owners a few months later) There’s definitely been more happy memories than sad. For that I am truly thankful. There was also a whole lot packed in to those 365 days. More than I could have imagined. I take none of it for granted and am very thankful for every single memory made in 2011 and hope for many more in 2012.

The year ended as it started … Lively conversation with friends over an incredibly scrumptious home-cooked meal (thanks Jim and Cheryl!!) games, dancing and lots of laughs.

But before the New Year’s festivities, we had a relaxing day off on Friday spent grocery shopping for our contributions to the New Year’s Eve meal, and then an afternoon movie.

We went to see Mission: Impossible at an Omnimax theatre. We don’t get to the movies that often so it’s always a treat when we do go. Poor Brian, unfortunately, missed some key points in the movie when he had his own impossible mission trying to find his way to and from the restroom.

He went out the exit door behind where our seats were – an obvious place to exit as it appeared to lead to the main hallway where we entered. He went out the door and found himself in a hallway that was not, in fact, the main hallway. He quickly realized it was a passageway used by theatre employees to get to the various control rooms. This realization came after the door closed AND LOCKED behind him!! So he went down the hall looking for an open door or another exit and found the only way out was a door going outside, on the opposite side of the building from the theatre complex entrance. So he walked around the building, in the rain, made his way back in and to the restroom, then finally back to his seat. About the time I started getting a little concerned at the amount of time he had been gone, I saw him coming up the stairs on the opposite side of where he exited. I wondered where he had gone but it wasn’t until after the movie that I heard the whole story. The most surprising thing about that story is that it didn’t happen to ME! That is totally something I could see myself doing. Haha

Yesterday was Brian’s birthday so we went out for a birthday breakfast before the New Years Eve portion of the day began. It was his choice, of course, and he was in the mood for a proper Irish breakfast so we went to Jack Desmond’s, a great Irish pub/restaurant where we had only had dinner before yesterday. It was about as traditional of an Irish breakfast as you can get in the U.S., so he was pleased. After breakfast and last minute preps for the New Year’s dinner, we headed north to Jim and Cheryl’s.

We had an incredible meal of salt-encrusted roast beef, balsamic glazed brussels sprouts and my super fattening but yummy mashed potatoes. A cheesecake with a cranberry sauce for dessert and birthday cake pops topped off the meal that is still making my mouth water.

How could you not have a good meal with such a lovely set table? (note the bucket o' cakepops...yummy!)

Later in the evening we had a second round of desserts with Cheryl’s new Christmas present.

Cotton candy!!!

I’m pretty sure I am guilty of gluttony after last night. But we burned many of the calories off with a Kinect dance-off. I don’t know what burned more calories – the laughing or the dancing. There are videos and pictures but I’ve been Threatened asked not to make them public. 🙂

We’ve been doing a similar version of this New Year’s Eve for about 10 years and it’s always a great way to end one year and welcome another. I’m already looking forward to next year.

Happy New Year everyone! I hope you all had a fun, safe time and that everyone’s good times outweigh the bad this year.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Stuff that would only happen to me, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

