Resolute in meeting my goals

Now that my back-to-back, four-day weekends — bridged with a three-day (not much) work week — have come to an end, it’s back to the regularly scheduled program around here.

I have legitimate duties to attend to at work, and real deadlines to meet, so I actually have to take reasonable coffee breaks, return to my desk after lunch, and put in a full-days work at the office. I have also come to the realization that eating truffles, pumpkin pie and cake pops as my three daily meals is not an advisable long-term dietary plan, even when I mix it up and have the pumpkin pie for breakfast and the cake pops for lunch! (But apparently run-on sentences are still very much a part of the daily routine. Yikes. :-/ ) All good things must come to an end, so my life, as well as my eating habits, must return to a more structured order.

I’ve never been much of a resolution person, but I do think of the new year as an opportunity for fresh starts. I like to think of things I have done poorly during the past 12 months and want to improve upon, and things I want to accomplish the next year, so I set “goals.” The word “resolution” just sounds so … um, resolute.

That said, this year I will *try* to:

1. Be a better wife, friend, daughter, niece, sister, ect. to those I love.

2. Stop putting things that can be done today, off until tomorrow.

3. Run my 6th marathon after a proper training period that includes speed work

4. Set a new marathon PR.

5. Read more books, the goal being 12. That’s only an average of one a month. That seems doable, right?

6. Fit back into *those* jeans – you know, those jeans I bought at my fittest, and wore for maybe two months before they didn’t fit anymore, then kept them on the eye-level shelf in my closet as motivation, but finally folded up and threw to the deepest depth of my closet because they were just taunting me and I don’t like to be taunted. Yeah, those jeans.

7. Do more things completely out of my comfort zone.

In the spirit of No. 2, I’m going to go fold some laundry now. Or is that in the spirit of No. 7? 🙂

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

