Smoke on the water

The Chicago River in January.

First it was the snow, then the bitter cold spell. Old Man Winter has finally settled in here in Chicago. As I did my penguin waddle to the office today in my three layers of clothing, I remembered one of the winter sites that I think is so neat looking. When the air temperature falls below the water temperature, steam blankets the river in an awesome way. Pictures don’t quite capture the beauty of the steam as it seems to flow with the water currents.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in pictures, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Smoke on the water

  1. It may be beautiful but I would enjoy the warmth again very soon. OOO how I miss it and it has only been gone like 2 weeks.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

