Super Princess Day

A few weeks ago I was walking to the train after work with my work BFF, Emily, when a bus drove by with an ad for the Disney on Ice show. I mentioned that I had thought of stealing a friend’s daughter for a day so I could see the show. (I’m weird enough to want to see the show, but not so weird I don’t realize going without a kid would have resulted in me being under surveillance for the duration of the performance for suspected pedophilia.)

Emily said she planned on taking her daughter as a reward for collecting enough reward stickers. She asked if I wanted to come with them. “Of course!,” I said. I only had to buy her coffee and warm up her lunch for a week to earn enough of my own reward stickers šŸ˜‰

The only day we were both free was SuperBowl Sunday, so we decided on the morning show so we could have lunch afterwards and get home in time to see the big game.

I have to say, the show was pretty cool even for an old broad like myself. The costumes (on both the skaters and the little girls dressed as princesses) were beautiful; the skating was impressive; and they even incorporated some Cirque de Solei – esque acrobatics into the show.

Rapunzel and her prince, swinging from her hair

AND … There was even an ice-skating horse! I wondered if the skater in the rear has “Horses Hiney” on his resume. He should, because I’m guessing that was no easy job.

After the show, we had lunch in Little Italy at Stax Cafe, a place known for its pancakes. The food wasn’t bad, but I should have gotten the house specialty. I ordered a turkey burger that I am pretty sure was actually a veggie burger.

After lunch I stopped at the store for football munchies. We watched the game at our neighbors across the street and had a really good time. The team I was rooting for won šŸ˜‰

Comparing football fans to princess fans, I can’t decide who is more fanatical. After seeing the reaction the little girls at the Disney on Ice gave to the princesses, I’m pretty sure they will grow up to be great fans of whatever football team they choose to follow as adults. As much as I enjoyed the show, I think watching the kids watch the show was even more fun.

Hi Cinderella! Hi Rapunzel! Hi Prince Charming!

Fist pump for the Princesses!

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

