Sunrise on the Strip

I’m back from my week in Vegas. I had planned to update this blog more often while I was there, but the days were so long the last thing I felt like doing in my free time was writing. But … I still have a few stories to share and I guess it doesn’t matter that they are not in “real time.”

When I started planning this trip to Vegas a few months ago, I had a thought that it would be really cool to go running on the Vegas Strip. After my first night there, when I went for a walk in search of dinner, I realized if I was to go running on the Strip, it would have to be early in the morning otherwise my run would be more like a crawl due to the crowds.

I am normally not an early morning runner on weekdays, mainly because I prefer sleep over starting my work day. But only one day into my trip, I was still on Central time and woke up at 5:30 a.m. local time (7:30 internal clock time).

I looked outside and saw a beautiful sunrise in the making.

I decided to take advantage of the awake time and was dressed and out on the Strip by 6:15 a.m.

With a few thousand less people, the sidewalks seemed huge. And it was as if they were all reserved for me and my fellow runners. While the rest of Vegas remained in bed sleeping off their activities from the previous night, us runners were enjoying our own self-guided running tours of the city. Everyone I passed was in a great mood, smiling and saying hello as they passed by.

The weather was absolutely perfect, and the way the sun was hitting the buildings, creating shadows and reflecting off the mountains made for a beautiful backdrop. I kept stopping to snap photos and passed other runners doing the same.

The Bellagio, emerging behind the shadows.

New York, New York


My hotel, The Mirage, was located near the North end of the main strip area. I ran South to the MGM, then turned around and headed back North past the Wynn and Encore. After a few circles in and around the Mirage property, I had run a total of 5.75 miles.

As picture-perfect as the conditions were, this was no easy run. About half of the intersections on the Strip require the climbing of stairs to cross. In all, I’d say I climbed at least 15 stories during my run which made for a nice workout. But running on the Strip is kind of a mind trick that makes the miles fly by. Since everything is so big, you have your site on something in the distance that appears to be somewhat close, but turns out to be a mile and a half away. But in normal conditions, the crowd of people force you to only pay attention to what is directly in front of you with each step, so this was a great way to experience the Strip.

Runs like this are completely worth getting up for, which I did two more times while I was there. Those runs turned into highlights of the trip and also offered a view of Vegas most people don’t get to see, or choose not to … It is known as Sin City for a reason 😉

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, Running, traveling, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunrise on the Strip

  1. Pingback: What I’ve been up to, Part 1 | Traveler on the Run

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

