Officially pushing 40

I had a birthday last weekend. The last one of my 30’s. And with the typing of that sentence, my heart rate went up. How did I get to the “officially pushing 40” stage? I feel like I’m still 25. Not that I wish I were 25, mind you, unless I could be 25 with the wisdom of 14 more years under my belt.

Trying not to focus so much on the number of this particular birthday, I did have a wonderful time celebrating. After my late-nite arrival home from Las Vegas last Friday night, Brian and I got up early Saturday morning to meet with a financial advisor who will, hopefully, map out a good financial plan for us to get to the retirement we want. Now if THAT isn’t a grown-up, pushing 40-years-old thing to do, I don’t know what is!

After our meeting, I went downtown to meet my Mom. We had a date to go see South Pacific at the Cadillac Palace Theatre. That was actually my birthday gift to her, which is about two weeks before mine, but the play just so happened to fall a day before my own birthday – what planning!

We met up early enough to grab lunch at the Italian Village, the oldest Italian restaurant in Chicago that I actually just ate at for the first time a few month ago. Over lunch my mom gave me my birthday gift from her and my dad – a beautiful silver diamond-cut bracelet that I put on right away. After lunch, we headed to the theatre.

I figured out that that was the first time I had ever been in the Cadillac Palace Theatre. It’s a beautiful theatre, as most are in Chicago. And our seats, near the middle of the main floor, were pretty good. Even better, there wasn’t anyone with sniffles or other annoying habits sitting near us.

Mom and I saw a production of South Pacific when I was in college at one of the community theatres. This one was much more memorable, even without the naked butt during the “Wash That Man Right Out of my Hair” scene. That was an added bonus πŸ˜‰ One of the most memorable aspects of the performance was the voice of Marcelo Guzzo, who played the leading role of Emile. He has the strongest, most beautiful male voice I have ever heard in a stage production. It turns out, he is a trained baritone opera singer. I’ve never been a huge opera fan, but maybe I should give it another chance. Did I mention Emile was easy on the eyes, too? πŸ™‚

After the show, we had a little time to kill before Mom’s train home, so we headed down to the Starbucks in the food court at Marshall Fields on State Street. As we walked toward the line to place our order, we noticed a 75% off table at the Frango Mints store. If you’re not familiar, Frango is a local Chicago chocolatier that has been a staple at Marshall Field’s (now Macy’s, but I refuse to call it anything but Marshall Field’s – nothing against Macy’s) since the early 1900’s. They are most well-known for their mint chocolate truffles but they have other chocolate flavors now, too. Frango is right up there with Ghiradelli in my list of favorites. Anyway, turns out heart-shaped chocolates are hard to sell after Feb. 14 ( who knew?!) Since I am not real particular about the shape of my chocolate any time of the year, and I love a bargain, we enjoyed some chocolately treats with our coffee until Mom had to catch her train back home.

On Sunday, my actual birthday, Brian made me breakfast, then we relaxed and hung out until dinner time. For that, we went it to Redstone Grill in Oak Brook where I had a delicious horseradish-encrusted filet mignon and garlic mashed potatoes. YUMM. EEEE. I’m guessing my breathe after dinner was not as yummy, but Brian didn’t complain. He even took me for a night cap before heading home.

After my long week in Vegas, I decided to treat myself to an extra day off of work, which I took on Monday. I decided to spend part of it at the Mario Tricoci day spa getting a much-needed massage – my gift from Brian. HEAVEN!

The birthday celebration continues this weekend, as well. Well, sort of. For Brian’s birthday on Dec. 31, I got him tickets to Jerry Seinfeld. The show is tonight. (do you like how I got both him and my mom tickets to shows that I would attend with them that were closer to my birthday than theirs? Do I know how to plan, or what πŸ˜‰ ) Tomorrow is brunch with Tonya.

I think since this is the last year of my 30s, I’ll do something to celebrate every weekend. It’ll help keep the dread of approaching 40 at bay.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

