15-mile running pardee

Marathon: t-minus seven weeks

I didn’t have high expectations for my long run last weekend. I was scheduled for a 15-miler, and had missed two of my three short runs during the week. So I had run a total of five miles leading up to the main running event of the week.

Despite my low expectations, I was somewhat excited about the exploration that would come with the run. We returned to Indian Trails Campground in Pardeeville, Wisc. over the weekend for our first camping trip of 2012. Even though we have been to Indian Trails a bunch of times, I’ve not seen much of Pardeeville beyond what’s on the route between Indian Trails and the Piggly Wiggly. I was anxious to check it out, but not about the work involved to do so.

My expectations were lowered even further as soon as I started to get dressed for the run Saturday morning. I pulled out what I thought were my running tights. When I started to pull them up I noticed the seam along the crotch was ripped and they seemed rather thin and worn and generally in bad shape all around. Since this was to be only the fourth or fifth time wearing these relatively new tights, I started thinking about how I could return them since I obviously purchased a lemon, if there is such a thing when it comes to running tights. Then, as I wiped the crust from my eyes, I realized I was not looking at a lemon pair of running tights, but a very old and worn out pair of Spanx. Only me.

I’m ashamed to admit that the first thing that popped in my head was that now I had a perfect excuse not to run since I had packed no other workout clothes. But I immediately decided not to let a stupid excuse keep me from my workout. Maybe if I were a classier person the thing I would be ashamed to admit is the fact that I said to hell with it, I’m running in my Spanx. But I think the fact that I have no shame has been pretty well established here. I was just happy to be wearing black underwear under the black Spanx just in case that hole in the crotch got any bigger.

I took off in my shiny, tummy-tucking wonder pants and went on my merry way, thankful I would not be running into anyone I know.

The thing I love about running in a new place is the fact that the scenery keeps me distracted from the running. Well, that and the whole not knowing anyone when your running in your bloomers thing. Along the way I passed farms, beautiful lake houses, cozy cabins and a handful of parks. Before I knew it, I was half-way there.



I remember thinking that I felt so good that I could run the whole marathon distance right then and there. Then I realized how silly it was to think that when I was only about eight miles in. So I kept running, waiting to hit the wall. Maybe it was the scenery, maybe it was the perfect running weather, or maybe it was the magic Spanx, but I swear the run was getting easier with each passing mile.

When I was less than a quarter mile from hitting 13, I realized I would be setting a PR for the half marathon distance. Record set, and still feeling fantastic, I was in the final stretch back to the campground.

I made it back with less than a half mile to go until I hit 15 miles, so I headed around the lake which is in the center of the campground. I was feeling so good, I decided to sprint the last half mile around the water.

I am so going to rock this marathon. Now the question is whether I should wear proper race clothes, or my Spanx 🙂

Weekly totals:
Total miles: 20
Number of runs: two
Longest run: 15 miles
Cross-training: three days of strength training
Weight: no change (and by “no change” I may or may not mean that I gained a pound or two. But, weight doesn’t seem to be hurting my performance so I have decided not to worry about it moving forward)

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, Marathon training, pictures, Running, Rving, Stuff that would only happen to me, traveling, Uncategorized, weekend getaway and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 15-mile running pardee

  1. Anita Sanchez Mazy says:

    Definitely, the spanx! Their like a magic flying carpet on you. Great job, Miss Thing.

  2. carrie says:

    But Pam, I was hoping you would have taken a post run portrait so we can see just how lovely you were in your spanx! LOL Great job on the run

  3. HAHAHAHA! YES! I am so happy I read this today. I love that you ran in your spanx and you owned it 🙂 I am pretty upset that you did not take a pic though. Next time I better see a self pic!

  4. Pingback: The theories and science behind race-day clothing choices | Traveler on the Run

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

