Recharging the batteries

I thought life would settle down a bit after the marathon was over and I was no longer spending my spare time running. But as you can probably tell from my lack of posting lately that things haven’t settled down one bit. I’m still busy, just not running.

We’ve had a graduation.

Me and my beautiful niece who just graduated from high school. She will be heading off to my alma mater, Ball State University, this fall.

Then a graduation party

Then a wedding

My cousin’s son Scott and his gorgeous bride, Brittany.

Me and my cousin Lisa, mother of the groom and a new runner – look how fabulous she looks!

Then there was Father’s Day weekend, which was spent honoring our dads, when I wasn’t working. Yep, one of the rare weekends I have to work and it’s Father’s Day weekend every year. (no photographic memories of that)

In addition, there was lots of family time, a belated marathon celebration with TRAAG, and a busier work week than usual. I finally reached the finish line sometime Friday afternoon (yay summer half days!) and headed up to Wisconsin for some much-need camping. We have actually camped two other weekends in June, but we combined camping with family stuff that was close by the camping — more on that in another post. The camping trip this weekend was 100% about camping and relaxation.

Brian’s had his own share of craziness that involved him going to Madison on Thursday. I still haven’t learned to drive with the trailer in tow so Brian pulled the trailer up with him on Thursday and I drove up with with the dogs on Friday.

We spent the weekend at Indian Trails doing Absolutely Nothing. We rarely even left the campsite. Just a few times to walk to the dogs and once to pick up more mojito fixins 🙂 It was exactly what I needed. It’s going to be another crazy week at w ork, so it was nice to recharge the batteries a bit and rest up. But the good news is, part of the craziness this week will be preparing for my absence next week. I am almost on vacation – yahoo!!

The vacation will start with a bang on Saturday morning with the Dirty Girl race. I plan to run, get dirty, have lots of laughs, then head to Margaritaville. Saturday is the annual Jimmy Buffett show. We are doing the whole tailgating thing – of course (!), that’s 75% of the fun. So when I am not working this week to get ahead for my time off, I will be working out, gaining strength back that I have lost after several days of no activity; planning the tailgating menu; packing for vacation; and cleaning for the Buffett after party. Next Monday, or maybe Sunday, depending on how quickly we recover from the Buffett revelry, we will be going back up to Wisconsin where we will spend the week camping, but hopefully being more active than this past weekend.

How’s everyone else doing? Not only have I not been blogging, I haven’t been reading any blogs either so I have some catching up to do.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in escape, pictures, Running, Rving, traveling, Uncategorized, weekend getaway and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recharging the batteries

  1. jsnapp62 says:

    I can’t believe those kids are almost grown. And I didn’t get any older?? How does that figure?
    Sounds like you’ve been having fun. Getting in activity can be fun sometimes.

  2. Oh my goodness! What a beautiful family you have 🙂 You are looking lovely as ever too! Sounds like you are a busy busy bee, but there seems to be a lot of fun stuff mixed in there too! Takes pics at the Dirty Girl Race 🙂 Sounds like a blast!!

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

