Casual running in the Midwest tropics

So, it seems someone has picked up Chicago and relocated it to the tropics since that’s the kind of weather we are having this summer.

Very few days have been under 90 degrees and the ones that are under 90 are under by not a lot. We’ve also had quite a few days that reached over 100 degrees. I’ve never been happier to have done a marathon early in the summer and to have it over and done with. I can’t imagine doing high mileage in this heat.

I just can’t run well in anything over 80 degrees. And, since I am not currently training for anything, I haven’t been running much at all. If I were training for a fall marathon, I’m pretty sure I would be skipping a few long runs.

I did find a fall race — the Grand Rapids Half — that I plan to do so I’m going to have to start training soon. Since it’s a half and not a full, the long runs won’t be too terribly long. But the way the last few falls have been, I guess it wouldn’t hurt to train in the high heat since there’s a good chance it’ll still be in the upper 80’s by October, when the race will be held.

The few runs I have gone on this summer have been nice though, including the one I went on Saturday with Lisa. The thing that’s been nice is not feeling compelled to track mileage or pace. I just run. And it feels good.

I know that I need to sign up for races to keep myself motivated to keep running with any kind of regularity. But it’s these downtimes that I remember running should be about more than timing and pace and gotta-run-X-miles-today-or-the-world-will-end. Sometimes it just needs to be about being outside, hitting the pavement and being active doing something you enjoy.

The run with Lisa on Saturday was like that. Even though I wasn’t tracking my pace, I knew it wasn’t a great run. I felt like I was running in slow motion even though I didn’t have much more to give. But it didn’t matter. When we made it back to her place, it was nice to just start stretching instead of immediately pulling out my iPhone to check my mileage, see what my pace was, how many calories I burned, etc., etc., then beating myself up for not doing better. All I knew was that we ran for about an hour and had fun doing it. It felt nice.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, health, Marathon training, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

