Weekend on the water


This past weekend we were invited to the lake house owned by our neighbors across the street. We were their guests a few years ago and haven’t made it back until now. But after a fun-packed weekend with lots of laughs and good times, I’m not sure why we waited so long to return.

Dan and Mary are wonderful hosts who have a beautiful house on a small lake in southern Michigan and all of the toys one would expect at a lake house: a boat, water skis, water tubes, jet ski, etc. I think we took every toy they own out for a spin this weekend.

They invited us and another couple from the neighborhood for the weekend. Instead of throwing some blankets on their couch, we just brought our house on wheels and parked it in the yard. It worked out well since the outdoor kitchen doubled as a lakeside mojito station. 🙂 It was also nice to have our own bed in the privacy of our camper.

We arrived kind of late Friday night. After setting up the trailer then eating a few burgers, we threw on some sweatshirts (the temps dropped to the lower 40s!) and sat around a cozy campfire making s’mores and enjoying some vino. We stayed up until almost 3 a.m. laughing and chatting and enjoying the nice crisp night air and warm fire. It’s been quite a while since we’ve stayed up that late, so we also slept in much later than we have in a long, long time to almost 10 a.m.

On Saturday we started the day’s activities out on the boat. I was all jazzed to try water skiing for the first time but Adam, one of the other house guests, went first. Just watching him gave me an idea of the level of difficulty I would be dealing with and I ended up whimping out, which, of course, I regretted later. Ah well. Next time. Brian, on the other hand, volunteered to give it a try. He did much better than Adam, but I think it’ll take a few more times around the lake before he’s ready to throw me on his shoulders and audition for the Tommy Bartlett show.

Next up was tubing, for which I eagerly volunteered. My balance isn’t the best, thus my concern about skiing. But I can hold on to a tube like a champion. Mary also told me I took the prize for the best wipe out. I was going doubles with Adam when our tubes collided and I was thrown up into the air and off my tube while I laughed hysterically. After the boating, we spent the rest of the day grilling, eating and drinking, playing various lawn games and taking turns on the jet ski. Dan and Mary’s dog even got a turn.

Mary with her dog, Sage.

Once it was dark, we went for a moonlit cruise around the lake, which was awesome. So serene and beautiful under a star-lit sky. The day was capped off with another cozy campfire.

We got up much earlier on Sunday then we had the day before. The weekend had come to a close and we had to pack up and drive home. Sadly, the summer is already nearing an end, so I doubt we’ll make it up there again this season. But I hope it’s not a few years before we return, like it was this time. I mean, when you have friends with a lake house, you’ve got to take advantage as often as possible 🙂

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, escape, pictures, Rving, traveling, weekend getaway and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekend on the water

  1. Anita Sanchez Mazy says:

    Oh, Thanks so much Pam for sharing a great weekend. It sounds like such fun, lots of excitement but the evening ending relaxing, laughing and enjoying one another. Glad you took that opportunity. Next year you’ll be skiing like a pro…I’m sure! Love you and miss seeing you and Brian. Hopefully, come November we can meet up in Florida. We’ll see how it goes. Hugs!

    • Miss you, too!! I am really hoping to see you in November in Florida!! We are so looking forward to the trip down there. It would be great to have the whole gang together for Turkey Day. The ocean is too rough to water ski, but I would love to try my hand at surfing on that trip 😉 Maybe I’ll talk Art into a lesson!! haha

  2. Amy says:

    This sounds like such a fun weekend! Living in the desert, I’m always jealous of people who get to spend time at lakes!

    • It was such a great weekend! We are also lucky because we are located pretty much right in between friends who live near a lake in Wisconsin and these friends on the lake in Michigan. Just sucks that there’s only a few months out of the year that the lakes can be enjoyed around here!

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

