Back in the race

The summer will soon be officially over, which means that fall race I signed up for, a half marathon in Grand Rapids, Mich., is right around the corner.

For a variety of reasons, I haven’t done much serious running this summer. For one, the brutal heat we have experienced this summer made the thought of running one mile seem like a daunting task. With no immediate race plans, but plenty of social plans during the summer months, I just chose to get my workouts in by doing something that took less time than lacing up the running shoes and running for miles upon miles.

The weather decided to cooperate just in time for the “get serious” portion of this training season. So with a few weeks left to get in shape, I have to make them count. I started with a six-mile run on Saturday. It couldn’t have gone any better.

The weather was perfect for a long run. I also had good motivation to get out there and burn some calories and blow off some steam as Brian and I were headed to Wrigleyville for a combo bachelor/bachelorette party I knew would include lots of consumable treats (more on that later).

I returned to one of my favorite places to run, a nearby wildlife refuge. The wildflowers that cover this area had grown quite a bit since the last time I was there, which was just a couple of weeks ago while on a bike ride. I guess they were just waiting for rain, which we have had quite a bit of these past weeks after a crazy drought for much of the summer.

I’m planning to do a little speed work for this half marathon, but I haven’t been able to find a good speed training schedule that will work for me. As usual, I’ll just make my own rules by combining advice from several sources and making it in to my own. I’m still working on that plan so if anyone has any of their own schedules and workouts to share, I’m open to seeing them. I’m doing my first speed workout tomorrow. We’ll see how it goes.

I’m not excited about the weather turning dramatically cooler since it means winter is on the way. But I couldn’t ask for better training temperatures than what is in the extended forecast. I’m also pretty excited for race weekend, which will be a combo race/camping weekend in Michigan, which has some of the best fall foliage in the Midwest.

I do have to admit, fall is pretty awesome here in the Midwest, especially for runners.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Camping, exercise, Fitness, Half marathon training, health, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

