Scenes from Wisconsin

This past weekend we made our final camping trip of the season to Pardeeville, Wisc. Well, it’s not the last camping trip of the season, but the last one to Pardeeville.

Just like the first Pardeeville trip of the season in April, I am in the middle of training for a race so I got to mix things up for a long training run. I had one of the best training runs of my marathon season in Pardeeville, so I was looking forward to a repeat of that spectacular run, but with less miles. Oh, and proper running clothes.

Fall and spring are my favorite times to run. And, I know. I am the only person on the planet who enjoys fall and spring running šŸ˜‰ The weather is not only perfect, but the scenery is also more enjoyable. In the spring you have all the colorful flowers coming out of hibernation, the grass is always a brilliant green, and the leaves are just starting to unfurl from the branches. In the fall, there’s the beautiful foliage colors and the crispness in the air.

I was a little disappointed the trees around Pardeeville had not changed colors more by now, but the trees, grass, etc. looked a heck of a lot better than the brown that has covered the draught-affected area for most of the summer.

I planned to do my run on Saturday but we woke up to a cold rainy morning. After putting the run off for more than an hour waiting on the run to stop, I was ready to drink coffee and relax, which is exactly what I did instead of run. But I was glad I waited until Sunday. The perfect running weather I had was worth the wait, and the pangs of guilt I felt for letting a little rain stop me from my run.

I don’t know if it’s just something about Pardeeville, or if my training is already paying off, as it did in the spring for the full marathon training. But I had a great nine-mile run (was only supposed to go eight) at a pace that was 10 seconds less per mile than my six-mile run just a week prior and right about where it needs to be to hit my goal race time. So with any luck, I can somehow maintain, or even improve, that pace as I add on more miles over the next few weeks.

Even though I was flying by all the beautiful scenery because I was running so fast šŸ˜‰ I did manage to snap a few pictures I thought would accurately portray a run in Wisconsin.

There is generally some kind of body of water

Trees


Farms

Other kinds of bodies of water

And, for us … A campground.

Cheese Town’s not too shabby. There are definitely worse places for a fall run.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Camping, Half marathon training, Running, traveling, weekend getaway and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

