Weighing thoughts

Last week, I came across this blog post thanks to Amy over at Lavenderparking. I guess I always knew that carrying extra weight slows you down while you are running because, well, it just makes sense. But this particular blog has a graphic breaking down exactly how much extra weight can impact a run. The thing that got my attention is the amount of weight it takes to impact your chances at a PR. Hint: it’s not a lot. Just two extra pounds can add 1:45 to your marathon time. If that isn’t proof that every pound counts, I don’t know what is.

I think any of us who have ever tried to lose a few pounds, or even a lot of pounds, get frustrated with those weeks where you feel like you did everything right and only dropped a pound or two.

I reminded myself of this chart and the information shared on it when I weighed myself yesterday morning and saw I had only dropped 2.5 pounds. I stayed within my calorie allotment every day. I worked out four times last week, including the 3-mile run I did Sunday which was followed by 45 minutes of spinning.

Instead of focussing on what I hoped would be a better number on the scale, I am going to focus on the positives. I am down, first and foremost. Yay! According to the chart, I am not just down 2.5 pounds, but also down nearly two minutes for a marathon and nearly a minute for a half. Second, I did that 3-mile run (my longest post-injury run yet) an average of only 20 seconds per mile less than my pre-injury 5k pace. I really expected to be a whole minute slower. I also did the run without wrapping my leg, which I didn’t intend to do, but I was about a half mile into the run when I realized I forgot to do it. But there was no tweaking in my leg, no stopping and I’m not the least bit sore.

I think I could have run about a mile or so more but decided to go conservative. I just started feeling real good after about 2.5 miles and was surprised I had only a half mile left to run. I considered continuing on but, again, decided to go conservative. I decided my strategy will be to repeat that same run until I can do it at a pre-injury pace, then add more distance and start the process again. I’ll keep adding mileage as long as it still makes sense.

I also had a radical thought while I was out running: That a treadmill might help my training along. The thing is, in the winter, I don’t do any running during the week because I hate running in the dark, which I would have to do in order to get in a run either before or after work. Add in bitter cold and you won’t ever see me out there. I have only run on a treadmill a few times in my life and never really considered the treadmill something I would enjoy. I’m an outdoors kind of gal. But I’m also a TV girl and that could actually be an option with a treadmill. 😉 During these winter months it might be the only way to get runs in during the week. Something to think about.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, Half marathon training, health, Marathon training, Running, running injury, treadmill running, winter running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weighing thoughts

  1. Amy says:

    Glad you found that post useful AND reaffirming! Isn’t it crazy though how much of a difference a few pounds can make?

    We’ve randomly been hit with a very cold winter this year (3 degrees when I got up this morning which isn’t typical), so I’ve had to hit the treadmill far more than I’d want. Not ideal, but at least it keeps me on track with training!

    • Yikes!! 3 degrees is insanely cold. My threshold is about 25 degrees. Anything colder and it just hurts the lungs to breath! I know a treadmill wouldn’t be preferred, but as you said, it would help keep me on track when running outside isn’t an option. And I would call 3 degree weather not an option!!

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

