Getting Down(ton) on the exercise bike

I hope everyone enjoyed their three-day weekend. As my boss reminded us at least three times last week, it’s the last long weekend until Memorial Day. Now the long, cold winter settles in for a lengthy stay.

A lot of people are motivated by the cold to workout. Getting ready for summer and what not. Me? I just go into hibernation mode. I get home from work and immediately change in to my flannel pajamas. I make dinner then settle in on the couch, snuggled under my warm blanket.

I’m really trying to avoid that habit this winter by implementing a few changes. First, instead of the flannel jammies, I change in to workout clothes so that I’ll be ready to go as soon as dinner is digested and the dishes are cleaned up. The other strategy is to find fun stuff to watch while working out indoors, and this has proven to be the most successful strategy thanks to Downton Abby. Oh my goodness. Addicted! And my husband will be happy to know it’s not trashy reality TV, my usual go-to genre. πŸ™‚

I think I am lucky that I just got on the Downton Abby train now since I have two full seasons of episodes to watch (well, one season now that I have already finished season one) to get caught up. It’s nice not having to wait a week for the next fix! Now that I am on season two, I’m intent on limiting my viewing ONLY to when I am working out so I don’t burn through the back-up collection of episodes. I started watching the series last week thinking I would only watch during workouts, but I got so engrossed, I found myself sneaking in a couple of episodes on the train. But with my self-imposed viewing restrictions, I have never looked more forward to working out.

Much like my This American Life strategy used when running, combining my workouts with my Downton addiction is a good way to get me to continue on the spin bike for an hour — about the length of an episode — and have the time just fly by. If I didn’t have to go to work, I would be willing to spend the entire day on the bike if it meant I was able to watch Downton.

I should be at goal weight in no time πŸ˜‰ I’m just not sure what will motivate me once I’m all caught up and have no more episodes luring me to the bike! I guess I’ll turn to my trashy reality TV. There are at least two of the Real Housewives series I haven’t seen.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Biking, exercise, Fitness, health, Marathon training, motivation, Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

