What I’ve been up to, Part 1

It may appear as if I did not survive my 40th birthday since the last time I posted was mere minutes before the clock struck midnight and I officially entered middle-agedom. But I assure you, the sky did not fall and the world did not end.
Turns out, 40 is a pretty busy age. At least it has been for me. Since my birthday, which was spent shopping, wining and dining with a dear friend, the booking of a dream vacation (more on that later), and eating chocolate fudge cake, I have traveled to New Orleans, Michigan, Indiana and Georgia. I kicked off another running season. I have also been busy with a business launch I will report on when it’s ready to go live, and a book project I will also report on when the time is right. All that to say, I have not prioritized my blogging. But now that I’m back on the road — both in the RV and in my running shoes — I want to make it a priority to keep this little living diary of my travels and runs going.
So where to begin? I have a couple of months to catch up on. Maybe I’ll pick up where I left off.
Just a few days after my birthday, I boarded a plane to New Orleans. First visit there since before Katrina. I was excited to return since I’ve always loved that city. But not excited to be going for work.
I cover the same conference every year, each one in a different location. Last year it was Vegas. The days are always long and the whole experience is quite exhausting. But I always try to get in at least one good run during these long conference weeks. I knew before I even started planning the trip that I wanted this run to be in the Garden District.
Visiting the Garden District was one of the highlights of my first trip to New Orleans back in 1997. It was my first “adult” vacation for which plans were made ahead of time and those plans did not involve sleeping in a car (like my second visit to New Orleans for Mardi Gras in 2000). I even did adult things like tours and museum visits. One of those adult activities was a walking tour of the Garden District. I remember being mesmerized by the big, grand houses and all of the stories that the walls inside the homes could tell.
The beautiful houses provide so much eye candy I knew it would be one of those runs I wouldn’t want to end since each intersection revealed things in every direction I knew I would want to investigate.
The Garden District was about a mile and a half from my hotel. I hadn’t done much running since the ruptured tendon incident in November so I figured I would do a total of five miles (three miles total there and back and two miles in the neighborhood)and that would be plenty for my non-conditioned body. Seven miles later, I was ready to keep going but it was getting dark. Something I am not willing to do is run in the dark in a place I’m not familiar with so the run sadly had to come to an end at seven. But it was the highlight of my trip.

Lafayette Cemetery

Lafayette Cemetery


Large, beautiful house

Large, beautiful house


Another large, beautiful house.

Another large, beautiful house.


A popular place to run is in the middle of the streetcar tracks.

A popular place to run is in the middle of the streetcar tracks.


But you have to watch out for street cars!

But you have to watch out for street cars!

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Fitness, health, Running, Rving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

