My inspiration

20130611-082231.jpg
This is my good friend Cheryl. She rocks. She’s also half the woman she used to be. I mean that in the nicest way possible. She has lost so much weight she looks half the size she used to be. She’s been working her butt off (literally) for several months not just losing weight but getting healthy. In the process she also became a runner! Score one for the runners — we hooked another one!

Cheryl and I met up for a run on Sunday, which was not a normal girl-day activity for us. Usually we get together for brunch, shopping, mani/pedis, etc. We decided to go running this time since we also just signed up for a half marathon for September.
The race will be Cheryl’s first half marathon. (Yeah, I think she’s enjoying this running thing!) She has said a few times that I have inspired her, which is completely flattering, but her determination has inspired me beyond words. And after our run Sunday, I realized she’s not only an inspiration but a motivator.
Cheryl was the one pacing our whole 6-mile run. It was me keeping pace with her, not the other way around. I was having kind of an off running day, dealing with nagging hip issues, so I had to stop and stretch a couple of times. Not Cheryl. No issues whatsoever and I think she would have run five more miles had I suggested it, which I wasn’t about to suggest 🙂
I’m pretty sure if I don’t step up my game, Cheryl and I will not be crossing that finish line at the half together. She will be miles ahead of me, which is inspiration for me to get moving. Not because I care who is faster (as long as it’s me 😉 …. kidding!) but because I want to be there to see Cheryl’s face when she crosses that finish line. When she sees herself passing people ten years younger. When she realizes she is not just someone who lost a lot of weight, but that she is an athlete. And a darn good one at that.
Cheryl, I’m so proud of you.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, Half marathon training, health, motivation, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My inspiration

  1. Pingback: Why Exercise Is Important: Your Number One Priority | greenMinimalism

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

