Vacation hangover

Our Alaskan adventure is over. We arrived home late Wednesday night and are still recovering from the lack of sleep caused by long days packed with lots of fun. Thank God for the four-day holiday weekend before we head back to work Monday.

Once we left Denali we boarded the Coral Princess and sailed the Inside Passage on the west coast of Alaska for a week. There wasn’t Internet access at sea, so I wasn’t able to live-blog the trip but I took many notes and many more pictures. I think I have enough material for many, many blog posts!

I’m going to do a thorough recap of the trip in several parts. But I’ll start by saying it really was the trip of a life time, although I hope it was the first of many trips there. That’s the thing about Alaska, a trip there just gives you a taste of what it’s all about then makes you realize there’s so much more to see. I could spend a week in Denali alone. We made so many great memories on this trip and saw so many amazing things that photos will never do justice portraying. But I need to write about it all just to help keep a record of our experiences. I also found the many blogs I read from previous travelers to Alaska a great help when planning our trip, so maybe I will share information others will find useful.

I hope everyone had a wonderful July 4. Mine was spent sleeping in and then catching up on housework and yard work. Afterward, we had a lovely evening watching fireworks from the neighbors’ porch. I’ll probably start writing over the weekend in-between visits with family and catching up on sleep. Oh! And running. Must. Run. This. Weekend. I have a half marathon I need to start training for! Vacation is over. Back to work, and back to training.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Alaska, Half marathon training, Running, traveling. Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

