My quest to be a morning person. Again.

Since we returned from our trip I have been wanting to get started on my half marathon training but have had a difficult time getting started.
The problem is my mid-week runs. I’ve tried a few times before to gets my runs done in the morning and each time my efforts fail less than a week in and I go back to my after-work runs. I have recently accepted the fact the evening runs are simply not working out as planned.
My intentions to run after work are always good. I leave the office motivated to go running but by the time I walk in the door I’m either tired, or starving, or both, or the humidity is just too extreme. Lately it’s been the humidity.
On Tuesday I got home and changed into my running gear. Since it was so hot and humid I decided to walk the dogs before my run. It was way too hot to take them running with me. We walked for a mile and a half and by the time we made it back to the house, I was drenched with sweat and absolutely beat. I bailed on the run and instead got on the spin bike which is located in my very cool basement.
At least I got a workout in, I told myself. But spinning isn’t going to get me trained for a half marathon. I started to revisit this whole morning run idea.
I’m not sure what my problem is, because I get up early on the weekends and run. Actually, I do know what my problem is. I don’t have to stay awake and use my brain for the rest of the day on a Saturday or Sunday like I do during the week. But I decided getting a three-mile run in would only require getting up 30 minutes earlier. If I could do that for a few weeks, maybe I could then stretch it to 45 or 50 minutes earlier, allowing me time to get in a five-mile run. Doesn’t sound too bad in theory. It’s the actual getting up and out the door that’s the problem. But, I decided, convincing myself to get up and run in the morning will be easier than convincing myself to run when I get home in the evening.
So, today was Day 2. I did just over three miles yesterday morning then ran the same route in the opposite direction this morning. I have to say, the temperatures were absolutely perfect. Much better than conditions that make me feel like I am running with a wet blanket wrapped around me. I ran an awesome pace and even managed to work in some dreaded fartleks . For you non-runners, I’m not talking about passing gas while running. A fartlek is an interval training technique where you do bursts of running at a pace significantly faster than your norm. It’s supposed to help build speed but it also brings your heart rate up for a better caloric burn.
The first half mile or so of each run were a little painful. I think my muscles were still at home in bed. But once I got warmed up, the running was pleasant. I felt great when I was done.
I had pretty good energy throughout the day, although I did take a quick nap while getting a massage at the chiropractor’s office yesterday.
Side note: I’m still having hip issues that have become more of an annoyance than anything. It hurts if I sit too long. It hurts when I ride in the car too long. It hurts when I run. The chiro didn’t see anything obvious. If it continues giving me problems I’ll have to pay the ortho a visit.
Today also went well. I felt like I had pretty good energy all day. I also felt like I had good focus at work.
My long run will be tomorrow or Sunday, then next week we’ll see how things go. I’m undecided how many days I will shoot for. I’m also undecided if on non-running days I should still get up at the same earlier time as a way of training my body. I could do my cross-training workouts in the morning, too, I guess. Something to mull over during my long run.
Any morning people out there? How do you do it? Same time every morning, even non-running days? If so, how do you spend that extra time in the morning if you’re not running?

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, Half marathon training, health, motivation, Running, running injury and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

