When the accomplishment is simply to finish

Today’s long run was one of those runs in which about 10 minutes in, I decide the accomplishment will be to just finish, not achieve a particular pace.

I am down at my family’s place in the Arakansas Ozarks. After the last time I went running here last summer, when days later my aunt spotted a bear on the same road I was running on, I decided to stick close to the house. I just got back from Alaska and all, but I’m still not ready to share a path with a bear. So I decided to do my seven-mile run by repeating the same loop that is just shy of a mile.
20130720-111502.jpg

On the back end of this loop is a steep hill. It was a fun challenge the first few times around but by about the fifth time, I had to walk at least part of the incline.

Adding to the fun of the hill were two dogs who are not used to people running past their house, so I was considered a threat. Not just the first time around, but every single time I rounded the corner and started up the hill, they stood at the top letting me know they were not happy with my presence. The closer I got they would bark, growl, show their teeth, bark some more, then chase me a little ways. I knew the dogs names so I called them by name in hopes that would put them at ease somewhat. Not sure how at ease they were but they didn’t bite me so I’d call that a successful technique.

My little friends.

My little friends.


There was a nice low-hanging fog that kept things cool when I first started but the sun quickly burned the fog away and the humidity set in. I decided to quit at least four times during the run but ultimately convinced myself to keep going each time. But as soon as I hit my target of seven miles, I rejoiced, then stopped running. I didn’t even have enough in me to make it back to the house running. I walked the remaining distance.

I’m not sure how many times I took walk breaks but I stopped beating myself up over them after about the third one. I’m not sure I would be a distance runner if all of my runs looked like this.
20130720-111716.jpg

But, my usual runs don’t have views like this:

Fog hanging over the White River.

Fog hanging over the White River.


20130720-111130.jpg
image
And, yes. I totally used picture-taking as an excuse to walk a few times 🙂

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in Arkansas Ozarks, exercise, Fitness, Half marathon training, health, motivation, mountain view arkansas, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When the accomplishment is simply to finish

  1. Pingback: Insanely sore | Traveler on the Run

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

