Insanely sore

I spent the last week in Arkansas. I didn’t run as much as I would have liked, or should have, but I did get out to my rural track that I wrote about last Saturday a couple of times throughout the week.

It was a challenging workout, for sure, with all of the hills. Add to that the humidity and, well, finishing each and every run was quite the accomplishment.

Brian came down to join me last Wednesday. He has slowed down his own running to focus on the Shawn T Insanity Workout series. If you’re not familiar, Insanity is this workout program intended to kill you. But if somehow you are alive at the end of the 60 days, you should have a pretty toned-up, shaped-up body. I know a couple of people who have done the program and all have seen great results.

Saturday morning I got up planning to do a few rounds on my running track. I told Brian I was having a hard time getting motivated to repeat the same .90-mile loop. It was getting a little monotonous but I was still unwilling to leave my loop to take a run farther away from the house in bear country. He suggested I skip the run and do the Insanity workout with him. That day’s workout was named “Extreme Cardio” or some such craziness.

I have been curious as to whether I could survive the Insanity so I agreed to give it a shot. Within the first ten minutes I was already huffing and puffing but I was proud of myself for keeping up and not stopping. I was even thinking that all of these people who claim it is sooo hard are wimps. It wasn’t that bad. Then I realized that was the just the warm up. Ugghh. The “real” workout began in short order, about the time I ate a big piece of humble pie. I thought the Jillian Michaels workouts were tough. Oh my. When the people in the video are stopping to catch their breath, well … you know there’s nothing easy or even sane about doing this workout.

I kept up pretty well until the end when it went into a never-ending series of burpees (Shawn T calls them suicide jumps, which I think is a way more appropriate name) combined with push-ups. At this point, my legs were like jello. I’ve never liked burpees, or been good at regular push-ups, even though I can rock girlie ones, but the point is, I couldn’t keep up. Because the people in the video were stopping, and I had made it that far without stopping, I didn’t feel too bad about missing a few jumps. I just pushed as hard as I was able to push.

I’m happy to say I survived the workout. Although the workout was Saturday, it is now Wednesday and my calves are STILL sore! Had I done extra stretching after the workout I would probably be OK but I was so ready to be done, I didn’t give it a thought.

I can see why people get results from Insanity. I’d be willing to give it a shot but not until after the half marathon training is over. Doing both would not only be double insanity, but also near impossible. In other words, I haven’t been running since Saturday’s Insanity workout.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, Half marathon training, health, Insanity workout, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

