Making a comeback

I knew it had been a while since I last updated but didn’t realize it’s been almost a year!

So much has happened in that span I’m not sure where to begin. Some (not so) highlights: I lost my job when the publication I wrote for was shut down; I lost my granny (expected); I lost my beloved Auntie Jo (completely unexpected); and I endured the most brutal winter I can ever remember (luckily I did not have to commute).

For the past year I have been freelancing. I was fortunate to have several offers come my way when the publication shut down so it has afforded me the luxury of being selective about the jobs I apply to and the ability to turn down low-ball offers. But the downside of it all is that I haven’t made time for running or blogging. Excuses for the lack of running include the brutal winter and nagging neck and shoulder issues. Excuses for the lack of blogging include the lack of running to write about, the heavy load of freelance writing, and the difficulty separating writing for fun and writing for work now that all of it is done from the kitchen table. But the excuse that holds the most truth is just an overall lack of motivation that is difficult to explain or even understand because despite the challenges from the past year, life is still good.

In an attempt to get back on track, I have set some goals, most notably a half marathon in October. After the half I ran last September (where I set a new PR thankyouverymuch) I haven’t really had my sights on any race of significant distance. After deferring my entrance to the Grand Rapids half marathon twice now (first year I threw out my back two days before the race, last year we made travel plans for the same weekend as the race) I decided third time’s a charm; I’m gonna make it happen.

Those familiar with my running background are probably also familiar with my unorthodox training methods. I decided to switch it up and try a completely new training program and stick to it as much as possible without adding my own modifications. So, I am five weeks in on the MapMyRun intermediate half marathon training program. So far so good despite the overall challenge of making running part of the normal routine again. I like that the program has speed work built into it. I also like that not all of the runs are based on distance. Some are just set times, such as 20 minutes of tempo.

My hope is to blog my way through this comeback. The lack of running and the resulting weight gain have made running a little more challenging than it has been in the past, but I’m making progress. I hope to continue in a positive direction.

A sign of a good run is muddy shoes.  My friend Lisa and I had a great one yesterday. The more trail runs I can incorporate into this training program, the happier I will.

A sign of a good run is muddy shoes. My friend Lisa and I had a great one yesterday. The more trail runs I can incorporate into this training program, the happier I will.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, Half marathon training, health, Marathon training, motivation, Running, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making a comeback

  1. Anita Mazy says:

    You always amaze me, Pamela! You’re my heroine. Stay positive.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

