Not all runs created equal, part 2

Earlier in the summer, our dog Maya had surgery for her hip dysplasia. She was very sore and got tired incredibly easy. But it was important to her recovery that we walk her and exercise the leg as much as possible. So our walks went something like this:

Walk about a house length, then collapse and rest
IMG_4024-1
Walk another house length
IMG_4025-1
Then collapse and rest again
IMG_4026-1

She’s doing much better these days. She can complete a walk without resting now, but we just can’t go as far as we used to.

On my long run yesterday I was reminded of Maya because all I wanted to do was stop and rest after every mile. I did 10 miles, the first 5 of which went very well but then I completely lost steam. I’m not sure if it was my reduced mileage from the previous recovery from neck and back issues, which are mostly resolved now. Or maybe it was my diet. Or maybe it was the heat, which honestly wasn’t that bad.

I managed to finish, but it was definitely one of those runs where I was a half mile from home when I hit the 10-mile mark and I didn’t even think about doing anything else but walk the rest of the way home. During the run, I stopped twice — not to walk but I pulled a Maya and stopped completely to sip some water, refuel with energy gel and build up energy to continue. The only thing I didn’t do was lie in the grass, but don’t think I didn’t consider it.

Here’s hoping for a better run tomorrow.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, Half marathon training, health, Marathon training, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

