A great race deserves a great day of celebration

Me and fellow TRAAG founding member Lisa have been trying to get in as many Badwater of the Midwest runs in as possible before snow makes it virtually impossible to run safely out there. With both of us self-employed, it’s a little easier to schedule these kinds of things. We decided to get together yesterday so I could give her a complete recap of the race while enjoying the trails.

When I said in a previous post that we don’t get the same kind of fall colors around here as they do in Michigan, I failed to mention there are a few exceptions. And the Palos Forest Preserve is one of those exceptions. As soon as we rounded the corner to the parking lot and got a look at the trees, in unison we both let out a “Wow! Look at that!” The colors were spectacular and I knew they would be even better from the trails.

Since I was only one day out from my race and my calves were still pretty stiff, we decided on doing only an easy 3 miles or so. Those 3 miles went by incredibly fast as we talked, I caught her up on the happenings at the race, and we admired the beautiful fall scenery, the colors of which were not captured very well in these photos.

IMG_4252-1

IMG_4254-1

Lisa, directing me to the more scenic views behind and to the right of me.

Lisa, directing me to the more scenic views behind and to the right of me.

IMG_4255-1

We usually end our runs with a cup of coffee but since we got a late start and ended our run at lunch time, we decided to skip the coffee and grab a bite to eat, instead. We ran to celebrate my race, and we had this delicious lunch to celebrate our celebratory run 🙂

IMG_4258

I did not realize that I had never introduced Lisa to the deliciousness that is Chucks Southern Comforts Cafe. It’s one of my and Brian’s favorite restaurants in the southwest suburbs. The owner/head chef, Chuck, has a background in southern BBQ, Cajun and Mexican, which seems like very distinct styles of cooking, which they are. But he makes all three work together in one menu that you have to see to believe. We both went southern BBQ in our selections — me with pulled pork and Lisa with ribs.

I think we may have to replace our coffee tradition.

A beautiful run. Fun conversation. And a delicious lunch, all in one day. Despite the grey skies, on a scale of one to 10, I’d give yesterday a 9.5.

About travelerontherun

I am a chronic adventurer who loves to see and experience new places. What I really love most is experiencing those places after parking my RV and lacing up my running shoes.
This entry was posted in exercise, Fitness, Half marathon training, health, pictures, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion! I love hearing from readers.

